What I’ve been doing all this time…

15 Jan

Aaaaand again, I have failed to keep my New Year’s Resolution to post every week. A large part of that was the study thing – I finished the easy introductory part of the course, and they threw us into Anatomy/Physiology, which was really interesting but quite difficult in parts, so I needed to buckle down and stop faffing about online. It worked: I came out the other end with good marks, which was both pleasing and surprising (I know it shouldn’t be; I’m a smart person, and I worked hard, but I always am surprised when good marks happen. It’s just how I roll).

The other part was family stuff. Boyo had a very difficult 2012. He starts high school next month, and he is understandably anxious about it, but where another kid might deal and move on, he has turned that anxiety into a whole slew of behavioural issues. I won’t go into detail, but between meetings at the school, ferrying him about to various therapy appointments, and no small amount of screaming and crying (both him and me), he has taken up a fair bit of my time. I’ve applied to defer my course for 12 months, as I really need to focus on getting him through this first year of high school. I haven’t heard back yet from the Powers That Be, but I’m told there should be no problem, I definitely qualify for “special circumstances”.

Anyhoo, while all of the above has meant the knitting output slowed down somewhat, there has still been some fibre-y goodness happening. As mentioned in the previous post, I made a Wingspan scarf for Boyo’s teacher, and both she and it are swanning around Ireland at the moment (lucky girl!). I loved knitting it so much that I promptly cast on another for me, and have almost finished it, despite the ghastly hot weather we’ve had here.

DSCF9580

Also, socks-in-progress for Tech Support, from EGMTK! Super Sock Yarn bought at Bendi:

DSCF9583

And the learn-to-spin thing is moving along nicely. I did indeed break out the BWM fibre, and look how pretty it spins up!

DSCF9576

On top of all that, I’ve been sewing:

iPad cover

…and dabbling in a bit of quilting:

This is what happens...

This is what happens…

...when you let a 9yo pick the fabric.

…when you let a 9yo pick the fabric.

So, all things considered, a not-unproductive 2012.

10 Responses to “What I’ve been doing all this time…”

  1. Lynne January 15, 2013 at 3:43 pm #

    Congratulations on coming out the other end with good marks. I wish you all the best as you deal with the first year of high school – I can relate in a small way: I hated it! Up until then I had loved school.

    You seem to have been productive between studying and mothering! The Wingspan is particularly fabulous!

    • kissmyfrog January 17, 2013 at 5:11 pm #

      Thanks! My high school experience was neither brilliant nor hideous: I was far too gawky and awkward to be one of the Shiny Happy People, but I eventually settled in with a good group of friends, and I got through pretty much unscathed.

      The Wingspan is a fabulous pattern, I highly recommend it. Easy knitting, but clever construction.

  2. kgirlknits January 15, 2013 at 6:03 pm #

    busy lady!

    Good luck with first year of High School for your boy- hope it goes smoother than he is thinking and he can then relax and enjoy it :)

    gorgeous wingspan!

    • kissmyfrog January 17, 2013 at 5:03 pm #

      Thanks, chick! I think once he settles in, he’ll relax and start to enjoy himself, but I anticipate a rocky start to the year. Oh, well, we’ll get there eventually.

  3. Kate January 17, 2013 at 2:33 pm #

    I think you should have your boys choose the quilt fabrics every time! Lots of ‘pow!’ and ‘pizzazz!!’ going on there :P

    Lovely knitting – hmm, I think you should show me where you got the colours for those socks when we meet up at Bendi this year – I love the combination!

    • kissmyfrog January 17, 2013 at 4:59 pm #

      The yarn is from Mandie; teal and burgundy were my colour “theme” for Bendi 2012. Almost everything I bought was one or the other, or a mixture of the two, and I didn’t realise it until I got back to HQ and laid it all out to admire it!

  4. RoseRed January 21, 2013 at 11:16 am #

    Good luck with the boy and high school. Hopefully he will get there and the reality will be much better than his imagined fears.

    • kissmyfrog January 23, 2013 at 5:35 pm #

      Thanks, Rose. I’m sure he’ll settle down eventually, I’m just really not looking forward to the first few weeks. One week out from The Big Day, and he’s wound so tightly he’s practically vibrating. Le sigh.

  5. Leonie January 30, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    Wow! Just Wow! Hang on, not just Wow, but Awesome! You’ve done a fabulous job on balancing course and motherhood and know when to not push it (if only everyone was that clever). The Wingspan is gorgeous, what colour is your one? The TechSupport Socks are coming along so well, really coming together in a matching/not matching kind of way :-) The spinning is Amazing, look at it it sitting there all purple and blue and thin and stuff. Is plying part of the plan or is it staying as singles? (You know I have to live vicariously through other people’s spinning right?) The iPad cover is pretty cool and the quilt looks like something I or my children would also put together, nothing wrong with bright and shiny :-) Definitely a productive end to 2012. Onwards and upwards my dear, and sending settled thoughts to Boyo.

    • kissmyfrog January 30, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

      Thanks, sweetie! First day of school today, and nobody threw up or cried in public or exploded from nervous tension or anything. In other news, my kitchen is surgically clean, which may have something to do with the fact that I stress-cleaned for two hours after I dropped him off.

      To answer your other questions/comments: *my Wingspan is Crazy Zauberball in Tropical Fish (I finally got it blocked today, so look out for a proper FO post soonish); *the T.S. socks are coming along slowly but surely, and will probably see a bit more action now that I’ve finished the Wingspan; *the spinning is making me so, so happy! It’s coming more easily every time I sit down at the wheel. I do plan on plying at some point, but I don’t want to break my flow, and the book I borrowed from the library (The Intentional Spinner, by Judith MacKenzie McCuin) says I should spin all my singles first, then ply, as I’ll get a more consistent yarn that way; *iPad cover: thank you; *the patchwork blocks are destined to be the two sides of a throw-cushion. Fortunately, as I think an entire quilt in those colours might cause ocular haemmorhaging. ;)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

