Simple pleasures.

21 Feb

The other day, I broke out a new toothbrush. And I’m standing there, brushing my teeth and thinking, “This is ridiculous, something as small as a new toothbrush should not be making me this happy!”. And that got me thinking – why not? Why should I only look for joy in the big stuff? So today I give you a (by no means exhaustive) list of things that make me happy out of all proportion to their size or importance:

  1. A new toothbrush.
  2. Freshly painted toenails
  3. Crisp white cotton sheets
  4. Newly sharpened pencils
  5. Thick fluffy towels
  6. Bread, fresh from the oven
  7. The first sip of coffee in the morning
  8. The smell of rain on a hot day
  9. Cherry tomatoes

So, what have you got to add to this list?

5 Responses to “Simple pleasures.”

  1. Sharon Tilston February 21, 2013 at 1:20 pm #

    Discovering that your friends tension is noticeably tighter than yours and loving that you will have that memory stored in your sock until it is worn out. LOL

    • kissmyfrog February 21, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

      I told you it was tighter… The question is, does it cut off the circulation?

      Sent from my iPad

  2. 2paw February 21, 2013 at 8:51 pm #

    When I was at work, it was waking up on Saturday morning and thinking it was Friday, and then realising it wasn’t. Now, it is waking up and seeing Labradors watching me to wag their tails and let their day begin because I’m awake!! new toothbrush, clean clothes off the line smelling of the Sun, going to drink the last mouthful of tea and there IS one, meeting a friend unexpectedly. I shall stop now!!!

  3. Leonie February 24, 2013 at 1:30 pm #

    Picking up your wedding rings from the jeweller that you have had checked and the claws rebuilt so you don’t lose the gems, it’s like getting married again :-)
    Winding a ball of yarn from a skein and having the perfect pattern for it all lined up.
    Sewing in the last end on a new hand knit.
    A piece of chocolate at the end of the day.
    Children asleep when you get up in the morning so the house is quiet.
    New seedlings poking their heads out of the earth (it’s been a long time since I’ve seen that, it’s time to do some gardening!)
    Sunrise.
    Sunset.
    Thunder.
    Lightning.
    Waves on a beach.
    My boys sitting reading and obviously enjoying it :-)
    Bendigo weekend away :-)

  4. Lynne March 4, 2013 at 5:20 pm #

    Definitely agree with sharp pencils (can’t bear blunt ones)!
    Here’s my list:
    clean sheets (not crisp, I prefer them soft and I don’t care what colour)
    large, thick fluffy towels
    bread fresh from the oven
    fresh strawberries, still sun warm
    home grown tomatoes with loads of flavour
    clean clothes off the line
    ginger beer, lime and bitters on ice
    a hot shower first thing in the morning
    my husband’s arms holding me close, expressing love, protection and a pinch of possessiveness (and we’ve been married over 35 years)
    my grandsons’ smiles when they first see me

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

