Catching up.

2 Aug

While I’ve been spending a fair bit of quality time with my new stove, there have been other things going on around here as well.

My in-laws came to visit, bringing with them a couple of dwarf fruit trees (peach and nectarine), to get our garden started. Before I could put them in, I had to dig out the somewhat overgrown garden bed and mix a bunch of compost into the heavy, clay soil, which, as Dr Bones pointed out, constitutes a fairly comprehensive workout.

fruit trees

My crack team of personal shoppers (AKA Dr Bones, Knightly Knitter, Tinkingbell and Zephyrama) came through big time, sending me everything on my Bendi shopping list:

ALL THE FLUFFY THINGS!!!

I’ve also been knitting, getting halfway through a pair of Nutkin socks,

CocoNutkinsas well as casting on a Vertex cardigan in the 4ply Cormo wool bought at Bendi 2012:

Wordpress really wants this pic upside down. I even tried turning it upside down in my folder, but it liked it that way.

WordPress really wants this pic upside down. I even tried turning it upside down in my folder, but it liked it that way.

And there’s been this, which is making me ridiculously happy:

happyThe house is also taking shape; next week we have an electrician coming to replace the stupid, expensive-to-run so-called “low voltage” downlights with more efficient compact fluorescent units, and put in some extra power points. Because we can do that sort of thing now.

8 Responses to “Catching up.”

  1. kgirlknits August 2, 2013 at 12:54 pm #

    ooh, they did you well at Bendi , for sure! look at all that lovely stash :D

    The Nutkins are perfect colourway – what is it?

    • kissmyfrog August 2, 2013 at 1:08 pm #

      It’s one of Mandie’s, bought at Bendi 2010. I’ve always called it Toasted Coconut. I’m so pleased with how they’re coming out. You know how you fall in love with a colourway in the skein, but then when you knit it up, it’s just not that great? This is definitely NOT one of those situations! :D

      And yes, those girls are made of awesome.

  2. 2paw August 2, 2013 at 2:23 pm #

    I agree, I thought the wool colour for Nutkin was perfect too!! A very nice haul from Bendigo, very lucky. Yes, gardening qualifies as a fitness activity!!!

    • kissmyfrog August 2, 2013 at 3:53 pm #

      In my experience, the main difference between gardening and a workout at the gym is that you don’t hate the garden because it has five kids and the physique of a 20 year old.

      Sent from my iPad

  3. Leonie August 2, 2013 at 2:54 pm #

    So have you done any more digging? Looks like you might have a decent amount of space to play in! My space is over run by weeds. Hmmm perhaps when you get bored…
    Your Nutkins and your Vertex cardy are coming along so well :-)

    • kissmyfrog August 2, 2013 at 3:39 pm #

      Not yet. If it doesn’t rain on the weekend, we’ll be planting sugar snap peas and some other frost-tolerant veggies. And I’ll be starting some tomatoes and basil inside, ready to go out once they get big enough. Summer salads, here we come!

      Hey, you pay the airfare, and you’ve got yourself a deal!

      Sent from my iPad

  4. Kate August 11, 2013 at 3:14 pm #

    Feedly ate my comment. I was all full of praise for you and loving your garden and your knitting and Feedly ate it all.

    I want my computer back!

  5. Lynne August 23, 2013 at 8:42 pm #

    Sounds like things are really happening at your place. I look forward to seeing that quilting, it looks most intriguing.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

