Further Adventures in Spinning.

13 Oct

What with everything else that has been going on this year, spinning has been happening in fits and starts. So on Tuesday when the boys went back to school, I decided to celebrate by taking a day for spinning – specifically, teaching myself to Navajo ply. So once I got them off to the bus and the morning chores out of the way, I sat down with YouTube and watched a couple of video tutorials. Soon enough, I was merrily chaining away.

Then, out of the blue, just as I was starting to get into a nice rhythm, the drive band on my wheel frayed and broke. I was not happy, to say the least. After a certain amount of swearing, I got online and ordered a new one from Mandie at Ewe Give Me The Knits. In the meantime, I tried to McGuyver a replacement out of kitchen twine, but it was just a bit too slippery to be a workable solution. A couple of days later the real one arrived, and I was back in business. Here’s what I ended up with:

DSCF1009I was aiming for a 4-ply/sock weight, but after a soak it bloomed up to about 8-ply/DK, ranging up to 12-ply/bulky in a few spots. There’s 211g there, which represents about 5 bobbins worth. My goal in learning to spin has been to create the yarns I want to knit with, and even though this came out thicker than I wanted, I feel like it’s a pretty good start. I’ve got a few other projects on the go at the moment, two with deadlines looming close, but then I think I’ll see how it knits up.

5 Responses to “Further Adventures in Spinning.”

  1. Leonie October 13, 2013 at 8:07 pm #

    Nice work, you have been very determined, so good to see the fruits of your efforts :-)

    • kissmyfrog October 20, 2013 at 11:17 am #

      Thanks, sweetie, but if it still required determination on my part, I wouldn’t be doing it. I’m really enjoying it, now that I’ve figured it out a bit. It still needs quiet and concentration (I certainly can’t do it well when the boys are talking at me), but its a very lovely and meditative activity. Except when your drive-band gives up the ghost. ;)

  2. Kate October 19, 2013 at 11:12 am #

    I love the colourway you’ve got there! To me the yarn looks good too – I wouldn’t have picked it as handspun by someone trying a new technique, but then as a non-spinner I have no idea what I’m talking about, so feel free to read into that whatever you like :)

    • kissmyfrog October 20, 2013 at 11:21 am #

      Thanks, gorgeous! I’m pretty happy with how it’s come out, but I should add the caveat that I photographed the prettiest bit.

  3. 2paw October 21, 2013 at 11:40 pm #

    Angus would be proud of your efforts. What a gorgeous colour and it looks fantastic!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

