The Battle of the Hills Hoist

23 Nov

Washing clothes these days is somewhat of an adventure, because hanging them out to dry means braving the wrath of the two extremely foolhardy Willy Wagtails that built their nest in the angle of my clothesline:

Image

Every time I go near the line, they fly up into the air, swooping close to me before landing on a nearby perch, puffing themselves up as big as possible (which is to say, not very) and furiously scolding me with a loud “CHOOCHA-CHOOCHA-CHOOCHA”.

I tried explaining to them that this is my clothesline, which makes me their landlady and deserving of respect, but they were about as impressed by that as I was intimidated by them (which is to say, not much).

9 Responses to “The Battle of the Hills Hoist”

  1. Kate November 23, 2013 at 1:36 pm #

    What a fabulous picture! Have they wrapped spiderwebs around the outside of the next?

    • kissmyfrog November 23, 2013 at 1:39 pm #

      Yes, and anchored it to the arm of the clothesline with horsehair.

  2. Leonie November 23, 2013 at 4:36 pm #

    It looks like it will fall off in a mild breeze let alone a strong wind!

    • kissmyfrog November 23, 2013 at 5:04 pm #

      Oh, no, it’s extremely well anchored. There’s a strong strap of horse-hair and grass that wraps under the horizontal bar of the clothesline. We’ve already had a couple of good storms since it’s been there, and it hasn’t budged. It just has no shelter from rain or sun, and it’s on my clothesline, which I need to dry the clothes. There’s any number of beautiful trees around that they could have chosen, and nobody would have disturbed them at all. Silly little buggers.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  3. kgirlknits November 25, 2013 at 6:59 am #

    pretty funny, really ;) cheeky.buggers, but you have to admire the tenacity (stupidity?) trees would surely be more appealing?!

    • kissmyfrog November 25, 2013 at 9:00 am #

      I know I’d rather live in a tree than on a clothesline, but then I am generally acknowledged to be more than a little odd. ;)

  4. 2paw November 26, 2013 at 9:49 pm #

    Wow, they are very clever birds. You are lucky they are not plovers. I am not a plover lover at all. I am glad you have a mutual truce!!!

    • kissmyfrog November 26, 2013 at 10:10 pm #

      Oh, plovers are mental! There was a pair nested in the median strip of the car park where I used to work many long moons ago. It was one of those little light-industrial parks, with about eight or ten businesses all sharing the car park, and anyone getting into or out of a car, or stepping outside for a smoke, or glancing out of a window was fair game.

      I don’t know how clever the wagtails are. Smart birds would have chosen any of the ten or twelve assorted trees or shrubs in the immediate vicinity, ranging from huge tall gums to a red bottlebrush in full bloom.

      Sent from my iPad

      >

  5. Lynne December 19, 2013 at 3:47 pm #

    A novel place to build a nest, to be sure. But definitely safe from local cats!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

