Things You Should Know About Me

7 May

Before we go any further, there are some things you might want to know about me.

As a knitter, I have a tendency to be more interested in the process than the end result.

See this?

jumpers-1.jpg

This is the “better jumper” mentioned in the previous post. It looks a little the worse for wear, but given that it’s now better than five years old and has been well-loved by two little boys, I think it’s held up pretty well.

Pattern: Denim Tunic, from Great Knits for Kids by Debbie Bliss (I think it was this book; it was five years ago, so my memory is a little hazy)

Yarn: Cleckheaton Country Naturals 8ply in a lovely hazy blue with slubs of cream and brown and apricot (colour sadly discontinued)

Needles: 4.5mm

Pretty decent for a first effort in over a decade, if I do say so myself.

Now this:

jumpers-2.jpg

is the next jumper I knit, cast on just a day or so after finishing the one above.

Pattern also Debbie Bliss, from the same book, on 4.5 mm needles, and also in Cleckheaton Country Naturals. The contrast stripe is in fact leftover yarn from the first jumper.

If the first thing you noticed is that it’s not finished, go right to the head of the class.

In my defence, we had a major life upheaval at this time, resulting in us moving to a new town, and I had to focus on packing, and the jumper got put away in the bottom of a box, and then I fell pregnant with Little Boy #2, and started knitting little tiny things, and Jumper #2 was forgotten (forunately, L.B.#2 is now exactly the right size to fit J#2, so will be wearing it this winter, as soon as I get it sewn up).

I don’t have anything like so good an excuse for this one:

jumpers-3.jpg

This is a jumper for me.

Yarn: Jo Sharp Classic DK Wool in colour ‘Hull’ (a completely luscious espresso brown plied with navy blue), now discontinued.

Needles: 4.5mm

Pattern: Cobbled together from 1000 Sweaters by Amanda Griffiths ( a very cool mix-and-match pattern book).

I originally bought this yarn almost three years ago, and knit it up from this book, and the result was hideous. It was meant to be a longish, tunic style, but it ended up being too short and boxy and it made me look like the back of a bus (it didn’t help that I was still carrying a fair bit of baby-weight), so I put it away, and sulked for a good long while. Then I frogged it and wound the yarn back up into balls, and awaited inspiration (and weight loss). Finally, I put together a better design, and started knitting again. This time, I went with something a little more fitted, with some waist shaping, and lovely flared sleeves, and I think the end result is going to be much better. I still haven’t finished it, though, because that is the boring part. I really like the knitting, but once that’s done, I generally lose interest.

Sadly, these are not the only instances of this particular aspect of my personality (there are several other projects languishing in the UFO pile, and I have an embarrassing number of WIP’s on the needles at any given time). Fortunately, I have discovered the miracle that is the top-down raglan, knitted in one piece. No more seaming. If I knit top-down, my kids might actually get to wear jumpers intended for them.

Maybe.

2 Responses to “Things You Should Know About Me”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Calling All Gurus « Kiss My Frog - May 25, 2007

    […] that this post is totally non-sock related, but I need help in the worst way. As mentioned in a previous post, I have a jumper in pieces that I have knit, hated, ripped, re-knit, and left languishing in the […]

  2. Deep Down, I Knew It All Along. « Kiss My Frog - September 27, 2007

    […] those of you who came in late, here’s the back story (scroll down, the culprit is at the bottom of the post – see that puckering along the seam? […]

Leave a Reply

