Happy Birthday Kate

12 May

Had she lived, today would have been Katherine Hepburn’s 100th birthday.

Kate as Eleanor of Acquitaine in The Lion in Winter (1967)

I have admired Kate since I first saw her hop a fence wearing a hooped skirt in Little Women when I was six years old. She had such presence, such dignity, such a wicked way with words.

Here’s a few examples:

  • Acting is one of the lesser skills man can possess. Honestly, Shirley Temple was doing it when she was four years old!
  • I don’t care what is written about me so long as it isn’t true.
  • I never realized until lately that women were supposed to be the inferior sex.
  • If you always do what interests you, at least one person is pleased.
  • If you want to sacrifice the admiration of many men for the criticism of one, go ahead, get married.
  • It’s a rather rude gesture, but at least it’s clear what you mean.
  • Why slap them on the wrist with feather when you can belt them over the head with a sledgehammer?
  • To keep your character intact you cannot stoop to filthy acts. It makes it easier to stoop the next time.
  • I have many regrets, and I’m sure everyone does. The stupid things you do, you regret if you have any sense, and if you don’t regret them, maybe you’re stupid.
  • Barbara Walters: So, Kate, do you even own a skirt?
    Katharine Hepburn: I own one, Barbara. I shall wear it to your funeral.

And my personal favourite, regarding Fred Astaire and Ginger Rogers:

  • He gave her class; she gave him sex.

She lived her life on her own terms, and to hell with anyone who had a problem with that.

Good on her.

Leave a Reply

