Help Me, Help Me, Help Me!

12 May

I am in a ‘Spoiled for Choice’ crisis. My Sockpal has given me a free hand (never a bright idea) regarding fibre, colour, pattern. The only brakes she has put on me is ‘no purple’, so this is probably out:

violet-beauregarde.jpgViolet Beauregarde

(Do you love that name as much as I do?)

But, as The Knitting Ninja also creates these:

moulin-rouge.jpgMoulin Rouge

tequila-sunrise.jpgTequila Sunrise

tulips.jpgTulips

that doesn’t really help me. Also, I am loving just about everything from Opal.

And then, I thought I should look for a pattern. Maybe if I found a pattern that I really loved, it would make up my mind for me about the yarn. I can’t just knit plain vanilla knitting, my brain would liquefy from sheer boredom and dribble out my ears. And then I’d have to clean up the mess.

So now I’m madly in love with five or six different patterns.

I totally adore everything from Cookie A, especially Thelonious (I intend to knit Milicent for myself one of these days). I’m also deeply enamoured of Foggy Dawn from Suzi’s Knits. Both of these patterns need a solid yarn to show them off to best advantage. But then Suzi also has several designs that would be really nice in a handpainted yarn. The Spring Garden would be paticularly nice in Tulips.

So I am appealing for your help. I can’t decide, and I need you all to make up my mind for me.

Here are the finalists for pattern. Once that is decided, maybe I can decide on yarn for myself (riiiiiiiiiight). Click on the thumbnail for a better look, and then please help me by clicking the link below to vote.

thelonious_l.jpgThelonious

foggydawn.jpgFoggy Dawn

hartshorn.jpgHartshorn

spring-garden.jpgSpring Garden

spiralstaircasesocks1.jpgSpiral Staircase

swirlingrivers800.jpgSwirling Rivers
Take the poll

Free Poll by Blog Flux

6 Responses to “Help Me, Help Me, Help Me!”

  1. Janine May 12, 2007 at 4:29 pm #

    i like thelonius best, with the stair stepping on a close second!

  2. sb May 12, 2007 at 5:02 pm #

    I LOVE the Moulin Rouge yarn. These are seriously nice patterns–your pal will love any of them.

  3. carola May 12, 2007 at 9:48 pm #

    Hey, I just voted for the Thelonius pattern. And the yarns you are ahowing are all so pretty (Moulin Rouge maybe my favourite). Howver, you should consider that variegated yarn and very structured patterns like the ones you are favouring here don’t always go well together. If you want to stick to the very pretty yarns, the swirling Rivers are probably best Choice. I can also recomend rpm from Knitty.com which creates a nice spiral structure. Should go well with any variegated yarn. Good look!

  4. becky c. May 12, 2007 at 10:15 pm #

    Foogy Dawn is my favorite – looks fun!

  5. Anita May 13, 2007 at 6:50 am #

    I can see why you’re having trouble. I like all but one of them (Spring Garden, I can’t see it)

    I agree that your sockpal would love them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Poll Schmoll « Kiss My Frog - May 15, 2007

    […] 15 05 2007 First of all, I’d like to thank everyone who read my post and voted in my poll the other day. Extra thanks to those who left comments. I’m new to the […]

Leave a Reply

