Finished Socks!

14 May

No, they aren’t my Sockapalooza socks, they are a Mother’s Day gift for my mother-in-law (I’m not late, she’s overseas) but I’ve finished a pair of socks nonetheless. Actually, I’ve finished two pairs, but as I forgot to take pics of the ones for my Mum before I mailed them, you’ll have to wait until she sends pics of them on her feet.

In the meantime, here are the ones I made for my MIL (click for big):

sock1.jpg

I call them Delft, because the colours of the yarn make me think of Delft pottery.

Pattern: Latvian Socks, from Folk Socks by Nancy Bush

Yarn: Patons’ Patonyle, 4ply (fingering) 80% wool, 20% nylon, colour 4312; two 50g balls.

Needles: Birch 2.25mm DPNs

I can’t tell you how happy I am with these. They are my first gusset-heel socks, and they turned out beautifully. I am completely in love with the Patonyle, it’s soooo soft and beautiful to work with, and then when I washed and blocked them, they came up even softer. I’m also unreasonably smug about the way the striping worked in my favour. The heel turned with a perfect triangle of the faux-isle speckled pattern, framed by the stripes of solid colour, and I’ve been running around showing people like I did it on purpose!

Now I have to get my act together and finish the bed-socks I promised my youngest, by which time I hope to have made a decision regarding the Sockapalooza socks.

2 Responses to “Finished Socks!”

  1. shannon May 18, 2007 at 8:10 am #

    Those turned out very nice. I have that book, but I haven’t seen an example of these socks anywhere else. I may well put this on my to-do list.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Panic Averted « Kiss My Frog - July 3, 2007

    […] heel turn. This is the second time I’ve knit it, the last time being for my Mother-In-Law’s socks. Then as now, the shaping of the heel-turn works with the the yarn to frame the heel in sections of […]

Leave a Reply

