My First Meme!

19 May

Sounds like the title of a book for babies, doesn’t it? I suppose that’s appropriate, as my blog is relatively new-born. Knitasha tagged me, so go blame her.

Well, here goes.

Seven Random Things About Me

1. I didn’t learn to drive until I was thirty. I got my learner’s permit when I was seventeen and in high school, but I was really bad at it, and my (younger) brothers teased me unmercifully about it. So I gave up in disgust. I finally learned because I was pregnant and living in a country town with very little in the way of public transport, and the thought of lugging a mountain of baby gear around on the bus was more than I could stand. Now I’m quite a decent driver, and a total car-head. I would really like one of these. Or maybe this.

2. I really don’t like cucumber, or melons (except for honeydew) or most tropical fruits. Other than this, I will eat just about anything that is put in front of me.

3. At the risk of being called unAustralian, I admit to the following failings: I don’t like beer, or meat pies (unless its home-baked), or Tim-Tams (I much prefer Mint Slice), or football, or cricket.

4. I loathe reality television in all its forms. I particularly dislike Big Brother, Who Wants to Whore Herself for a Millionaire The Bachelor (and its clones), Extreme Makeover (and its clones), and Jerry Bruckhiemer’s Travelling Trailer Park The Amazing Race. When I run the world, the words “reality television” will mean documentaries.

5. I read a lot. My taste is eclectic, but I do feel strongly that there are only so many times you can read about a young Southern lawyer in a David-and-Goliath courtroom battle against evil corporation/organized crime/corrupt government agency, before it all starts to seem strangely familiar… For this reason, I read a lot of science fiction. IMHO, sci-fi is one of the few genres left where there is any real mental innovation going on. I also thought that The DaVinci Code was utter crap, and I haven’t seen the movie.

6. My big dream, since I was a little girl, is to have a hobby farm. I don’t want to own a working farm, where our livelihood is dependent on things like weather, just a few acres where we’d have room for a couple of kids, a couple of dogs, a few chooks, some sheep, a veggie patch and maybe a horse. The house would be a straw-bale house, running as much as possible off solar power, and we’d be hippy dilletantes. So far, we have the kids.

7. If anyone thinks they are tagging me to do 100 Things About Me, they should forget it. This has taken me most of the afternoon, and while there’s always a good reason not to wash the dishes, I do have children to feed.

Well, there you have it. Nobody said they had to be interesting things.

Oh, and I’m tagging EGMTK, Taphophile, Jamie, Peskymac, Kathinka, Minneapolismama, and Lesley (Morgan only escaped because her blog is down while she sets up her e-commerce site, and she needs to concentrate on dyeing my yarn). Be sure to watch their blogs, maybe you’ll find out something really cool.

5 Responses to “My First Meme!”

  1. becky c. May 20, 2007 at 12:46 am #

    Never heard of Tim-Tams, but Mint Slices sound really yummy. Chocolate and mint is a favorite combo of mine. I heart Sci-Fi too, have your read Heinlein?

  2. kissmyfrog May 20, 2007 at 8:35 am #

    The Tim-Tam is an Australian institution. It is a small rectangular chocolate biscuit (what you would call a cookie) with chocolate cream in the middle, coated all over with more chocolate.
    Then there is the “Tim-Tam Slam”, where you nip opposite corners off the biscuit, dip one end in your coffee, and suck coffee through the centre of the biscuit (like a straw), which melts the chocolate cream as it goes through.
    I am totally opposed to biscuit-dunking on general principals (it leaves biscuit-sludge in the bottom of the cup), so the Slam fills me with horror, once again proving how unAustralian I am.
    I have read some Heinlein; sometimes he does it for me, sometimes not. I loved Waldo and Magic, and Starship Troopers. My favourite author is Sheri S Tepper, although she probably fits more under the heading of Speculative fiction .

  3. Mandie May 20, 2007 at 3:34 pm #

    Aha! I found you ๐Ÿ™‚
    Thanks for tagging me – there’s no hate involved though I have spent a goodly amount of time wondering about what to write!

  4. crossthatpath May 24, 2007 at 1:46 pm #

    Hmm, the Tim Tam slam I know of involves Bailey’s. Won’t melt your chocky. Yummm!

    I totally agree with your #3 comment. I have the same likes and dislikes. Don’t like reality TV and dream of a few acres with a mud-brick (or straw bale) eco-style house. A few fibery critters, a house cow, orchard and vegies.

    ~Dot
    http://woolnewe.wordpress.com/

  5. Kathinka June 8, 2007 at 5:12 am #

    Sorry, I was out of town and so it took me a little while, but now I dutyfully posted my seven facts. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

