Calling All Gurus

25 May

I am posting this to the Sockapalooza4 Pligg, and I do realise that this post is totally non-sock related, but I need help in the worst way. As mentioned in a previous post, I have a jumper in pieces that I have knit, hated, ripped, re-knit, and left languishing in the Ikea* pile since last winter. Today being Friday, the one day a week that I am child-free, and the day when I do stuff that is best done unassisted, I had planned to finish that jumper.

But when I got everything laid out, ready to start seaming up the right sleeve to right front, I made a nasty discovery (click for big).

jumper-001.jpg

Here’s a close-up:

jumper-002.jpg

Do you see? The front raglan is 6.5cm (2.5 inches) shorter than the sleeve raglan.

What I need to know is this: Have I arsed it up? Do I have to rip and re-knit the !@##$%^ thing again? Or is the front raglan supposed to be shorter than the sleeve? I am quite certain that I followed the pattern, because I had to rip and re-knit the front a couple of times before it looked even remotely right. The pattern, for those who want to know, is from 1000 Sweaters by Amanda Griffiths. I used the Square V-Neck Sweater (body 31) on pages 106-107, and the Flared Raglan (sleeve 13) on pages 38-39, and I am using the Square V-Neck Rib Neckband (neck 16) on pages 74-75.

Please help me, because I am beginning to think that the Knitting Gods don’t want me to have a beautiful Jo Sharp jumper. Either that, or they’re rehearsing some new form of torture for Knitting Tartarus. Like Sisyphus, forever pushing the boulder uphill, only to have it roll back down, I am doomed to eternally knit, rip, and re-knit the Raglan Sweater from Hell.

Excuse me, I have to go and attempt to propitiate them by casting on a deadly dull really exciting and thrilling (!) green bed sock.

*”the Ikea pile” = Some Assembly Required.

6 Responses to “Calling All Gurus”

  1. knitty-kat May 25, 2007 at 2:49 pm #

    have you blocked it yet? Some times that makes a difference!!!

  2. kissmyfrog May 25, 2007 at 2:59 pm #

    Yes, it’s blocked. It just looks kind of a mess because the quilt I photographed it on is rumpled (I may have been a bit miffed when I was spreading it out across the bed).

  3. Taphophile May 25, 2007 at 7:11 pm #

    That sleeve looks awfully big next to the front. I’ve been known to knit two different sizes – perhaps that happened?

    It’s such a shame. Maybe when you’ve finished the second sock for that glorious little foot it will have magically worked itself out.

    We can wish.

  4. alison May 25, 2007 at 11:12 pm #

    That is a big difference. I’ve had to ease sleeve caps in sometimes because they don’t match up exactly with the body armhole opening, but 2 1/2″ is a lot. I’d try to figure out which armhole will fit better and change the other one to match it. Good luck with it! (And I totally love the “ikea pile” thing – hilarious!)

  5. becky c. May 26, 2007 at 12:28 am #

    I have no words of wisdom, but I am sending happy thoughts your way! Love the green sock.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. More in the Mailbox « Kiss My Frog - June 20, 2007

    […] swear to you, from this day forth, I am only knitting jumpers in the round! Which brings me to the other jumper languishing in the Ikea pile. I have figured out what I am going to do. I am going to rip the […]

Leave a Reply

