Look! It Actually Fits!

25 May

First of all, the owner of the foot would like to extend his thanks to everyone who posted such kind compliments on the cuteness of said foot. The foot’s mother would like to venture the opinion that the cuteness of the foot is only exceeded by the cuteness of its owner. Photographic proof will be provided in subsequent posts.

And now, the moment you’ve all been waiting for (drum roll, please):

sasquatch-004.jpg

Yes, by God, it fits!

The Vital Statistics:

Yarn: Heirloom Baby Wool 4ply (fingering weight) shade 470, 100% pure new wool, machine washable

Needles: 2.25mm for the foot, switched to 2.75 for the leg.

Pattern: Universal Toe-up Sock Formula by Amy Swenson (from Knitty).

Variations: 60 stitches, short-row garter stitch toe and heel, K3 P2 rib throughout.

Comments: I deliberately did not post any progress pics, because, as anyone who knit the Rockin’ Sock Club’s “Inside Out” pattern can attest, the combination of short-row garter stitch toe with a stretchy rib foot bears an unfortunate resemblance to certain male anatomical features. This resemblance is only exacerbated by a short-row garter stitch heel, which promptly forms a little pouchy bag. If you really want to see this, knit one for yourself.

Now, I have to knit the second one (sigh). I think I’m about to experience my first bout of the dreaded Second Sock Syndrome. I usually quite enjoy the second sock, because I’ve worked out all the kinks, ripped back, re-knit, said all the rude words I know, and made copious notes, so the second sock absolutely zips by with no dramas whatsoever. But with this sock, I was totally over it by the time I’d turned the heel. The leg was just E-N-D-L-E-S-S, and I really don’t want to have to cast on for the sequel. Do children actually need two feet? It’s definitely a design flaw.

My eldest’s bed socks are totally going to be in 12ply (worsted weight).

6 Responses to “Look! It Actually Fits!”

  1. Minneapolismama May 25, 2007 at 2:05 pm #

    I love the green! I think the foot is very lucky to have such a nice, and talented mother!

  2. knitty-kat May 25, 2007 at 2:51 pm #

    you can do it!!!

  3. YTT May 25, 2007 at 3:08 pm #

    The foot is just as cute in green.
    But I know the feeling. Some socks never end.

    I went back and checked my own foot measurements and it’s 10″ long, 9 3/4″ around. So I guess I am Sasquatch too. No wonder I was so drawn to your son’s foot.

  4. Mandie May 25, 2007 at 4:33 pm #

    Awwww….cute sock!
    Ooops – very cute foot too!

  5. Seanna Lea May 25, 2007 at 7:39 pm #

    There’s certainly nothing wrong with worsted weight bed socks. It’s not like you are trying to shove them into shoes! (If any of the feet I regularly knit for were that large, I would be going worsted weight too!)

  6. Anita May 26, 2007 at 1:36 am #

    The sock looks wonderful. And more importantly the foot in the sock looks great. You’d never know you had so much trouble with it.

    How does Sasquatch Jr like it?

Leave a Reply

