Largesse

18 Jun

Largesse (lar-gess) – noun

1. Generous bestowal of gifts;

2. The gift or gifts so bestowed;

3. Generosity, liberality.

My (upstream) sockpal sent me some goodies! Look!

blog1.jpg

I can’t tell you how chuffed I am. What a happy thing to happen on a grey winter Monday! (And I’ve been meaning to pick up a ball of Tofutsies for ages).

On a totally unrelated topic, I have been a bad, bad blogger. Morgan gave me a (very sweet) kick in the butt the other day, sending me a comment asking if all was well. Everything is fine, but the cubby-hole where my computer lives is very cold, and I’ve been quickly checking emails, reading the bare essentials (Yarn Harlot, et al), and then making a beeline for my cosy couch, and the knitting basket. I’ve been swatching with the Cashmerino, and while the swatching has been successful, my attempts to take an un-blurry photo of the swatches have been less so.

However, I do have knitting pics for you:

blog2.jpg

These are the giant freakazoid monster-socks that are destined to become felted slippers. I really love how perfectly the varigated yarn stripes, and while there is a bit of pooling around the heel gusset, I decided to keep it that way, because the individual colours are so very beautiful, and the pooling there allows them to stand alone for a little. I can’t wait to see how they look once they’re felted.

Oh, the vital statistics:

Pattern: Fuzzyfeet by Theresa Vinson Stenersen for Knitty

Yarn: The Knitting Ninja 12ply Corriedale, colourway “Violet Beauregarde”, 2 skeins, 166m per 100g skein.

Needles: 7mm dpns

Gauge: 14.5 stitches & 18.5 rows over 10cm (4″)

Mods: I lengthened the cuff, otherwise unchanged.

Here is a reference shot, with my (somewhat odd and bony) foot :

blog3.jpg

Please note that my foot is on the largish side, being a size 9, but this pre-felted sock makes it look almost dainty. Even my husband’s giant size 12EE’s swim in these ( question: why is it that almost every sock knitter has a large-footed spouse? I never see anyone on the Pligg rejoicing in their significant other’s petite paws).

The jumbo-socks are off to the laundromat for a swim in the industrial machine tomorrow or Wednesday, as my washing machine is a front-loader, and the felting instructions say I need to check progress every ten minutes or so. I’ll post FO pics later in the week. And now, if you’ll excuse me, my hands are very cold, and I’m making many, many typos, so I’m going to go wrap them around a hot coffee-mug, and maybe eat a couple of those choc-mint sticks my lovely sock-pal sent me.

One Response to “Largesse”

  1. Mandie June 18, 2007 at 4:56 pm #

    Much relieved to see a post from you – had made a note to email you and check that all was well!
    Can’t wait to see the slippers all felted, they look like a fun project for sure 🙂
    I wish Morgan didn’t do so many yummy colourways….makes it very hard to decide!!
    Stay warm 🙂

Leave a Reply

