More in the Mailbox

20 Jun

The postie has been very, very good to me this week. On Monday, it was the goodies from my sockpal, and yesterday it was one of these. You see, the pattern I have in mind for my sockpal’s socks is Reptilian Lace, which owing to the big wide cable/lace pattern up both the front and back of the leg, would be impossible on dpn’s (the only way I have ever knit socks to now). The pattern calls for two circs, but I have discovered that I am not a fan of the two circs thing – I don’t know why, it just doesn’t do it for me. But Magic Loop, now that is the Greatest. Thing. Ever!

So I ordered me one of those snazzy little Knitpicks Classic Circulars from Prestige Yarns, and yesterday when it arrived I was so excited, I ripped it straight out of the package and cast on. WooHoo! It is totally everything it is cracked up to be. The tips are glassy smooth and nicely pointy, the cable is flexible (and purple!), and the join is almost non-existent, it’s so smooth. Love it, love it, love it! I will absolutely be buying more of these (and the person in charge of birthday shopping has already been notified that he will have an extremely happy wife if I get the Options set this year).

And further to Monday’s post, I would like to show you that while I have been remiss in blogging, I have actually been a busy little bee.

blog-007.jpg

I made bedsocks for my eldest (who shall henceforth be dubbed Mr Coffee, mostly because he is all cafe colours, brown hair, creamy skin, caramel freckles across the nose, and eyes the colour of cinnamon, but also because he is a hyper little guy).

blog-010.jpg

He was pleased. So pleased, in fact, that I have had to institute a rule: he only gets to wear them to bed. Otherwise, I would have to knit him a new pair every week (my boys only get handknit bedsocks, because I have seen what they do to their everyday socks, and I am NOT putting handknit socks through that).

Yarn: Patons Jet 12ply, col 6. 70% wool, 30% alpaca.

Needles: 4mm x 80cm circular, Magic Loop method. ( I told you I use my family as Guinea pigs; how do you think I know I love Magic Loop but don’t like two circs?)

Pattern: Universal toe-up formula, by Amy Swenson for Knitty

Mods: Again, short-row garter-stitch heel and toe (why pick up wraps if you don’t have to?), cable pattern up leg made up out of my own head (which you can’t see very well because of the striping). Pilling and what-have-you courtesy of Mr Coffee scuffing his feet on the carpet.

Remember this?

jumpers-2.jpg

Check it out now!

blog-005.jpg

Yes, I finally got my act together, and finished the damn thing. And I hereby swear to you, from this day forth, I am only knitting jumpers in the round! Which brings me to the other jumper languishing in the Ikea pile. I have figured out what I am going to do. I am going to rip the raglans back to the armscye, and knit them in the round from that point up, then seam down the sideseams.

Well, that’s the theory. Be prepared for swearing and crying.

Oh, and to aid in keeping my hands warm, thus enabling more regular blogging, I am making myself a pair of fingerless mitts. One down, one on the needles.

blog-002.jpg

Yarn leftover from my MIL’s Mother’s day socks, pattern ripped off borrowed from Grumperina’s Jaywalker socks. These actually started out as socks, until I discovered they wouldn’t go over my heel, but they fit really nicely on my hand (I would just like to point out that I am only 37, not 1000 as this photo of my hand might make you think. Believe it or not, this was actually the best photo I could get of my hand).

And finally, I haven’t any FO pics of the felted slippers yet, because it has been too damn cold to take Sasquatch to the Laundromat. It actually snowed here this morning! Anyone reading this who lives somewhere that it really gets cold is probably laughing their arse off right now, at our piddling little smudge of snow, but please bear in mind this is Australia. There is a reason why the image people have of us is Lara Bingle wading out of the surf, asking “Where the bloody hell are you?”. We are, after all, the sunburnt country.

There is also a certain irony in the fact that it has been too cold to go and finish slippers intended to keep my feet warm.

This may be my longest post ever. Apologies if your computer is also somewhere cold.

2 Responses to “More in the Mailbox”

  1. becky c. June 20, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    Love the fingerless glove! Very resourceful.

  2. Holly June 21, 2007 at 1:02 am #

    I love those bedsocks! They are so purty. I made my nephew a pair of felted slippers that he loves, because he gets superslides on the hardwood floors! They held up because of the felting.

    And those fingerless gloves are gorgeous.
    Happy knittin’ to ya.
    Just surfed in from Ewegivemetheknits.com
    Holly

Leave a Reply

