Wintry Weather

30 Jun

We have had snow here , twice in the last week, so of course the boys want to know when Santa will be here. They never believe us when we explain that Christmas is in summer in Australia. Bob the Builder, Thomas the Tank Engine, and all their favourite TV shows wouldn’t lie to them, now would they? (No, I do not have pictures of the snow: I’m not fool enough to go out in that much cold just for your amusement. The reason I like living in a cold climate is that it means when it’s freezing outside, I get to curl up somewhere cosy and knit, with occasional glances out the window to remind me how nice and warm I am indoors.)

The Sasquatch has had a cold, so he spent three days curled up asleep on the couch, while Bob the Builder played over and over on the DVD (I love ABC for Kids DVDs; they play automatically, which means I don’t have to stand around with the remote in my hand, waiting for the menu to appear). Every time I switched it off, he opened one eye and said, “Hey, I was watching that!” and then went back to sleep as soon as I turned it back on. He is so much like his father, it’s scary.

There has been knitting, of course. You want pics? You got ’em.

FO! The Jaywalker mitts:

jaywalker-mitts.jpg

Vital Statistics:

Yarn: Patons’ Patonyle, 4ply (fingering) 80% wool, 20% nylon, colour 4312; slightly less than 1 50g ball.

Needles: Birch 2.25mm DPNs for wrist, changed to 2.75mm for hand.

Pattern: Half nicked borrowed from Grumperina, half made up as I went along.

They are toasty warm, and I’m very happy with them; in fact, I’m wearing them as I type this.

And Ta Da! Actual progress on my Sockpal’s sock!

sockpal-2.jpg

I apologise for the blurryness, this is actually the clearest picture I have yet managed to take of this yarn in any knitted configuration. It seems to have some kind of weird photo-resistant voodoo on it. This is the reason I haven’t posted any swatch pics, even though I have been swatching this yarn for weeks.

This is two and a bit pattern repeats, and I can’t tell you how much I love this pattern. It is coming along beautifully. After all the swatching angst (yes, there was angst; I couldn’t get the pattern and the yarn to agree, there was pooling of an unhappy nature, I had to go through several different beads before I found the right ones, the list goes on), it is finally working.

Of course, now that I have said that, you know that Murphy is going to have to slap me down.

4 Responses to “Wintry Weather”

  1. stringtheories June 30, 2007 at 11:37 pm #

    beautiful mitts! I’ve been wondering for a long time if the Jaywalker pattern would look okay in self-patterning fair isle yarns – now I know I can use some self-patterning stash yarn for the Jaywalker socks!

  2. Regenia July 1, 2007 at 8:59 am #

    Your Reptilian Lace looks great, and look at you, even doing the beads! I agree with the boys… Christas is a winter holiday, so Christmas in July may be in order…

  3. becky c. July 1, 2007 at 9:41 am #

    Quick, knock on wood!!

    Love the Jaywalker mitts.

  4. Morgan July 2, 2007 at 12:12 am #

    I LOVE your jaywalker mitts! People kept telling me that Sydney didn’t get anywhere near as cold as back home in San Francisco, but they’re mistaken. I’ve been rugged up the last few weeks and now that I’ve seen your mitts I’m very tempted to make a pair of my own.

    As for your sock, sorry to hear about the pooling. If I could figure out a way to avoid that in the dyeing process I totally would, but I’m glad you made friends with the yarn in the end because your work in progress looks great. Good on you for having the patience to do bead work too 🙂

Leave a Reply

