A Plan (of sorts) and a Pattern (kinda).

2 Jul

So, it’s the 2nd of July. One month today until The Day.

Which means, in order to get my pal’s socks to her in time, I have to post no later than 16th July. Which gives me two weeks to get them done. Two weeks that coincide with School Holidays (insert dramatic music here).

I have so far knit two and a half pattern repeats. The pattern calls for three on the leg, one on the foot, with an extra little bit to bring the yarn-over columns to a point on the foot, followed by plain vanilla knitting down to the toe. So I’d estimate I have knit about 30% of the first sock.

So, here’s the plan. I am making it my goal to knit a minimum of one pattern repeat (24 rows) or the equivalent per day. If I get more than that done, great. But I must knit at least those 24 rows each day, or I am not going to get this thing done in time.

Today’s minimum amount is to finish the third pattern repeat on the leg, knit the heel flap, and pick up the gussett stitches. This may not seem like a lot, but please bear in mind the following:

1. I am, by preference, a toe-up girl. I have knit exactly two (2) pairs of top down socks before this. I picked this pattern partly because it is beautiful, and partly in the spirit of challenging myself as a knitter. I have some difficulty in picking up gusset stitches evenly and without puckering. It will probably take me two or three goes to get it right.

2. It is School Holidays. Winter holidays. We live in quite a small house, with no room to run for two small boys. The backyard is a lovely big one, but it’s too cold and rainy to send them outside, so I will be attempting to pick up gusset stitches with them bouncing off the walls. I fully expect to have no voice at all by lunchtime (…and I’ll be happy to see those nice young men in their clean white coats, and they’re coming to take me away, ha-ha!).

Any and all donations of sanity vibes gratefully received.

Now, to very smoothly change the subject, I have had several comments (three on the blog, and a few in real life) on my Jaywalker mitts, of all things (who’d’a thunk it? I just whipped them up ’cause my hands were cold!). People seem to like them, so I am attempting to put together, not exactly a pattern, but some notes on how I converted the sock into a mitt. Here they are again:

jaywalker-mitts.jpg

With 5 x 2.25mm DPNs, I cast on 76 stitches, and worked five rounds garter stitch before beginning the Jaywalker pattern. I then continued until I had a length I was happy with for my wrist (46 rounds / 23 pattern repeats). I then changed to 2.75mm DPNs to start shaping for my hand, and worked another 10 rounds in pattern. Then, on the ‘knit plain’ round, I increased (kfb) at each end of each needle, and increase of 8 stitches all around, for a total of 84 (21 per needle). After another ten rounds, I did the same thing again, for a total of 92 stitches (23 per needle). Another four rounds brought me up to the base of my thumb (I had been trying it on every so often), so I transferred the stitches from one needle onto a thread, joined for knitting in the round, and continued on with four DPNs for the hand, another 16 rounds. Then I simply worked another five rows garter stitch and cast off loosely, after which I picked up the 23 stitches for the thumb (plus two extra stitches at the join) and worked five rounds garter stitch, casting off loosely. Repeat for the other hand.

The best part is, they are interchangeable. The biasing of the Jaywalker pattern kind of makes a thumb gussett all by itself, and they just automatically shape themselves to your hand, so you don’t need to adjust the pattern at all for left or right. All hail Grumperina for her brilliant pattern!

4 Responses to “A Plan (of sorts) and a Pattern (kinda).”

  1. Regenia July 2, 2007 at 11:55 am #

    Sockapalooza post day is August second in the states. We’re supposed to mail them that day, and ya’ll down under should send yours so that they arrive at about the same time. This is how it’s been in years past anyway. This means, domestic socks will arrive around August 9. Allowing two weeks for the post, I come up with you have three weeks to finish, not two. Perhaps my math helps save your sanity?

  2. kissmyfrog July 2, 2007 at 12:41 pm #

    Yes, thank you, Regenia! That’s a load off my mind. I think I will still shoot for my current goal, just to be safe. If nothing else, it should make for some interesting blogging – my slow descent into madness and all.

  3. Adrienne July 9, 2007 at 6:05 am #

    Hey, I made some Jaywalker mitts too! I haven’t posted them on my blog yet, but I get lots of comments in person. I like yours a lot.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. It’s All Downhill From Here « Kiss My Frog - July 5, 2007

    […] would seem that my plan has met with the approval of the Knitting Gods, as ever since, the knitting has flown by. The first […]

Leave a Reply

