Panic Averted

3 Jul

Well, it wasn’t really panic. Panic would have been for a week from now, if I realised that I only had one week, and less than one sock completed. Then I would have truly panicked (picture the Yarn Harlot‘s annual Christmas knitting meltdown, only without the funny).

But Regenia (in real life, I bet she glows, and comes complete with her own angelic choir) came to the rescue, and told me that August 2nd is the date to post your socks, not the arrival date, as I had assumed. So I actually have three weeks, instead of two (mimes wiping sweat from forehead, and heaves huge, theatrical sigh of relief).

That very good news aside, I am going to stick with The Plan, for two (or three) reasons:

1. 24 rounds per day is achievable, and will get me done in good time (if all goes well, ten days).

2. I am by nature a procrastinator, therefore the mere fact of my coming up with The Plan represents personal growth. If I actually stick to it? I might even qualify as a Real Grown-Up before I turn 60.

3. If it all goes bad, there’s the entertainment (for you) of watching me go right off the deep end.

So, yesterday’s Goal? Achieved! Better yet, it only took two goes to pick up the gusset stitches. And I would just like to say, I completely adore the ‘Half-Handkerchief’ heel turn. This is the second time I’ve knit it, the last time being for my Mother-In-Law’s socks. Then as now, the shaping of the heel-turn works with the the yarn to frame the heel in sections of colour. Here’s a pic (once again, apologies for blurry photos; that voodoo thing is strong with this sock):

sock3.jpg sock4.jpg

Please also note the gorgeousness that is the Eye of Partridge heel. To quote someone’s blog (I would link, but I forget who – the downside of the Pligg is that after a while, all the knitterly cleverness starts to run together into a marvellous blur), the Eye of Partridge stitch makes variegated yarn “pop like a mosaic” – whoever it was is not only eloquent but totally right. I’m loving it.

Now I’m off to watch Shrek 2 with my boys, and get a few rows closer to today’s goal.

3 Responses to “Panic Averted”

  1. Mandie July 3, 2007 at 3:43 pm #

    The sock looks wonderful…and I’m sure there’ll be a pair by the deadline!
    It’ll be plain sailing cos I’ll keep Murphy here with me ’til you’re all done πŸ™‚

  2. Taphophile July 3, 2007 at 7:38 pm #

    It’s a gorgeous sock – I’ll cheer from the sidelines.

  3. Regenia July 3, 2007 at 10:57 pm #

    I’m flattered; nay, nearly embarrassed. The heel looks great…. great enough for me to maybe forgo my normal short row heel and try that one on my next pair. I think that only people that start life as grown ups ever really accomplish becoming one. That being said, sticking to your plan will obviously have you finishing BEFORE you must, and that just may be deserving of a reward πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

