Missing in Action

9 Jul

It is with some sadness that I must advise that the socks I knit for my Mother-in-law as a Mother’s Day gift have gone missing in the post. More than a month has gone by, and I am forced to accept that they are gone for good. It happened thus:

My in-laws were away overseas for Mother’s Day, so I held the socks until they returned home, which they did on Wednesday, 6th June. I posted the socks the following morning (7th), which would mean they should have arrived Tuesday 12th. Unfortunately, Friday 8th June the big storm hit, and my in-laws live on the Central Coast of NSW (they are fine, and suffered no property damage). Evidently the socks are a very minor casualty of the tragic events of that weekend. Considering what others lost, we were damned lucky. I only hope they were found by someone who needs warm feet.

Therefore, there is a second pair of MIL socks in planning. They will be cast on as soon as I finish the second Sockapalooza sock for my pal, (which is underway, but so far looks no different to how the first one looked, so there’s really not much point in wasting camera batteries).

3 Responses to “Missing in Action”

  1. Morgan July 9, 2007 at 10:51 am #

    What a bummer. I don’t know what it is with AusPost lately. I’ve had three lots of yarn go missing in the last month. Very frustrating, but like you said, thankfully they survived the storms and hopefully your socks are keeping another person’s feet warm.

  2. Mandie July 9, 2007 at 5:16 pm #

    Ouch, that bites!
    Glad to hear that your second Sockapalooza sock is coming along well though 🙂
    Hope you’re keeping warm up there….we are freezing down here and we don’t get snow!

  3. becky c. July 9, 2007 at 11:24 pm #

    Awwww man! That is a bummer. Everytime I mail handknits, I fret a little until they arrive safely. At least it wasn’t a sweater! Good luck on MIL Socks II.

Leave a Reply

