Home Alone

11 Jul

Shhhh… Hear that? No? That’s because there’s no noise in my house. It’s so quiet you can actually hear the kettle coming to the boil.

My in-laws came this morning to take the boys for a few days before school goes back. They have just left, and I have the whole house to myself. Is it wrong that I did a little dance?

What am I going to do with myself, you ask? What won’t I do! Drink coffee unmolested. Brush my teeth without advice. Watch whatever I want on TV. Listen to music that isn’t played by the Wiggles. Eat vegetables without a seven-year-old making gagging noises at me. Knit without a four-year-old on my lap.

Oh, yeah! That reminds me. I intended this for a knitting blog, didn’t I? Here you go:

red-socks-001.jpg

These are the Lone Heart Heel Socks (by Melissa Deutsch Scott for YARN Magazine, Autumn 2007 issue), knit in Cascade Fixation colour 3628 (I think – I don’t have the ball band, I won this from Regenia a while ago). They have a lace heart feature heel, for wearing with clogs. Look!

red-socks-002.jpg

(Again with the blurry – I think I need a new camera!) This is shown on my fist, as I have a strong suspicion that it would be really hard to take a photo of my own heel. When they are done, I’ll get Himself to take a pic of them on my feet for you.

And finally, a pic of my Sockapalooza sock #2 progress. For visual interest, I added in my knitting setup:

red-socks-003.jpg

I’ve copied out the lace pattern onto 5mm graph paper, both to be more easily visible, and to help fix the pattern in my mind, and it is stuck on a little magnetic whiteboard that I pinched from the boys. I am spiralling two strands around each other to combat pooling (I normally enjoy pooling, it’s part of the fun of hand-painted yarn, but this was smothering the cable/lace of this particular sock). Also, I have found that working with two strands is helping me keep track of where I am in the lace pattern. One strand has the beads on it, and the other strand works the pattern.

With no distractions, I should be able to get a fair chunk of this out of the way before we go pick the boys up on the weekend. I’ll just go and get started on that, shall I?

3 Responses to “Home Alone”

  1. becky c. July 11, 2007 at 11:54 am #

    Lucky girl!! Enjoy the peace and quiet.

  2. Taphophile July 11, 2007 at 5:07 pm #

    It would have been wrong if you didn’t do a dance!

    Love both socks – very clever to spiral the yarn to avoid pooling. πŸ™‚

  3. Mandie July 12, 2007 at 10:15 pm #

    Awwww…..saviour the experience πŸ™‚
    Socks are looking great BTW!
    In case I forget to ask next week..which is a distict possibility – did you want me to get you anything at Bendy? Happy to shop!

Leave a Reply

