F.S.O.

18 Jul

That would be a Finished Sockapalooza Object! Woohoo!

sockapalooza-finito-001.jpg

The slightly darker one on the right is the second – it is still wet on its very snazzy bent-wire-coat-hanger sock blocker. Now I just have to assemble some additional goodies (I plan on giving my pal a little taste of Australia), and we are good to post.

The Vital Statistics:

Yarn: The Knitting Ninja Cashmerino 4ply sock yarn (70% superwash Merino, 20% nylon & 10% cashmere), colourway Moulin Rouge; approximately 1 95g skein.

Needles: Knitpicks Classic Circular 2.5mm x 80cm, Magic Loop method.

Pattern: Reptilian Lace by Sivia Harding for Knitty.

Modifications: I used an Eye of Partridge heel instead of the standard slip-stitch heel called for in the pattern, otherwise, I followed it exactly, right down to the beads (which I bought from my friendly neighborhood bead shop, Beading Inspirations in Adelaide St, Blayney).

On the subject of beads, I have to say it was remarkably easy. Several people told me how brave/patient I was, but apart from the fiddly job of stringing them onto the yarn before I started (and if we were afraid of fiddly jobs, we wouldn’t be knitters, would we?), it was really straightforward. The placement was marked out on the chart, and when I came to that spot, I just slid the next bead up, knitted it into the stitch, and kept going. Trust me: if I can do it, anybody can. And it really makes the diamond pattern of the lace pop.

I love this pattern, have since I first saw it. It was challenging without being terrifying, and I will definitely be knitting it again. Right after I finish my red Lone Heart Heel Socks, make my MIL’s backup Mother’s Day socks, and there’s that brown Jo Sharp jumper still hanging over my head like the freakin’ sword of Damocles, and I want to make this, and this, and these….

Sigh.

Added later:

I just found these, and have to add them to the list of Must Knit Soon. I know that S.A.B.L.E. stands for Stash Acquisition Beyond Life Expectancy, but is there a related acronym for someone whose pattern queue is rapidly approaching that length?

8 Responses to “F.S.O.”

  1. Mandie July 18, 2007 at 6:55 pm #

    They look gorgeous – you must be so thrilled with them!!
    I’m still to get some of Morgan’s yummy yarn….I go and look and can’t decide because I want it all!!!
    Hope you are keeping warm – coldest July day here in 9 years yesterday, I know it’s winter….but sheesh!
    Will take lots of pictures at Bendy for you – wish you could be there too. Shoot for next year 🙂

  2. Morgan July 18, 2007 at 11:21 pm #

    Ohhh…those are lovely! You did a great job and may have nearly inspired me to try my hand at beading. We shall see.

  3. becky c. July 19, 2007 at 12:33 am #

    Yay!! Bet it feels good to be done. They look great.

  4. Emmie July 19, 2007 at 1:03 am #

    Love the Sockapalooza socks. Great job!

  5. Regenia July 19, 2007 at 1:15 am #

    Yay for finished socks! Don’t forget to update the database….
    Do you want to do a White Lies KAL? Nothing fancy and no deadlines, but I have one of her sweaters in my queu as well.

  6. Jennifer July 19, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Those look beautiful! I need to try the wire hanger blocker.

  7. natalie July 20, 2007 at 1:39 pm #

    those are some great socks! it looks like there’s a cool optical illusion thing happening in the stripes on the leg. very nice!

  8. Gina July 21, 2007 at 3:33 am #

    Very very nice Kate. Truly wonderful. I’ll have to add beaded socks to my list of things to knit. It’s a long list.

Leave a Reply

