All Done Pottering

28 Jul

Okay, I’m back. I’ve finished Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows, and it was very good (not saying any more, so as not to spoil it for others who may not yet be done). I apologise for not posting at all for the past several days, but my preferred reading style is ‘total immersion’. While I don’t get to do that very often these days (what with kids and husband and housework and yada yada yada), I did manage to leave the world behind in blocks of two or three hours, while the boys ran amok.
I also finished the Red Heart socks:

red-heart-socks.jpg

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern: Lone Heart Heel Socks by Melissa Deutsch Scott for YARN Magazine, Autumn 2007 (issue 6).
Yarn: Cascade Fixation colour 3628, 2 Balls.
Needles: 3.25mm DPNs, switch to 4mm DPNs for ribbing.
Modifications: The original pattern was for a little short ankle sock, knit in 4ply sock yarn. I made mine quite a bit longer, and out of 8ply. I also used a provisional cast-on, short-row toe instead of the circular cast-on called for in the pattern. Actually, I did the foot my way and adapted the lace pattern for the larger gauge, and then I used Elizabeth Zimmerman’s Sewn Bind-off. I’ve never used that one before, but I’ve always had a problem casting off loosely enough, and I’d heard that this was a really stretchy cast-off, perfect for toe-up socks. It’s really easy, and very stretchy, just as advertised. I am rapidly becoming a total EZ disciple (I’m planning a Baby Surprise Jacket in the very near future).

In other news, the Jonquils are out! It might actually be warm again one day!

jonquils.jpg

And because I have no self-control at all, I have started knitting the Opal I bought the other day.

opal-socks.jpg

I have to say, I’m not seeing rosebuds in this colourway. To me it looks more like a Rainbow Lorikeet (if you put it in a blender and pressed puree).

Also on the agenda is some serious attention to my horrible dry, calloused feet (no, I’m not showing a before picture, because they’re fairly gross), to make sure they are worthy of fabulous new Sockapalooza socks! Yay!

One Response to “All Done Pottering”

  1. danielle July 31, 2007 at 1:18 am #

    I love how your Opal rosebud socks are knitting up! I have a skein of that in my stash, but have been resisting it for a few months. Now that I know how pretty it will knit up I’m excited to start something with it. Your heart socks look great, too!

Leave a Reply

