Murphy Is Back

10 Aug

During the whole Sockapalooza experience, my lovely friend Mandie volunteered to take Murphy off my hands, so that I could finish the Reptilian Lace socks sans drama. Last night, she emailed me that I could have him back, which went a long way towards explaining the following.

After the Opal socks misbehaving so badly, I put them in the Naughty Chair, and picked up a skein of cashmerino from The Knitting Ninja, in ‘Camo’. It’s kind of a blokey colourway (that doesn’t bother me: I’m not a particularly girly girl), so I thought I’d knit a pair of Charades, make some nice butch boot socks.

I did have a few qualms about casting on for myself, since I still haven’t got the second pair of MIL socks underway, and Father’s day is rapidly approaching, but I looked at the Camo yarn and thought “Screw that, I’m not wasting Cashmerino on Man-feet!” (you can justify almost anything if you try hard enough).

I knit a swatch (which is totally out of character, but I’ve had several frogging incidents lately, and wanted to avoid mishaps), did the maths, and cast on for a toe-up version.

camo-charade.jpg

I got a decent way along, enjoying how the yarn was pooling in a spiral, and getting a real kick out of the herringbone rib, and thought I’d try them on to see how they fit.

Too big. As in, Sloppy Too Big (swatches are filthy little liars).

So I frogged, fully intending to start over in the same pattern with fewer stitches. Then I had another attack of the Guilts, thinking Father’s day really is very soon, and this colourway would be just right for my Father-in-law, but managed to salve my conscience with the thought that he has very big feet, and this yarn is only a 4ply, and Morgan does a 5ply superwash merino sock yarn, which would be much kinder to my Mother-in-law, as she’s the one who’d have to wash them, and I could knit them up quicker on 3.25mm needles….

And while all of this is rattling around in my head, somehow I inadvertently cast on for….

camo-monkey.jpg

Monkeys (that peer-pressure is powerful stuff!). As you can see in the above pic, they are off the needles. Guess why? Too small! Rrrrrrrrriiiiippppppppppp!!!!!!!!!!

At first I thought it was the Knitting Gods telling me that casting on for myself after getting such scrumptious Sockapalooza socks is just greedy (which it is), but then I got that email from Mandie, and it all came clear.

Murphy is back. Although he’s obviously a bit tired, because after the week he’s given Mandie, this is nothing.

2 Responses to “Murphy Is Back”

  1. Mandie August 10, 2007 at 12:47 pm #

    I’m sorry that Murphy is being such a lousy moocher. He really needs to broaden his horizons and move on quick smart, tired or not!
    Sending you good vibes for hassle free sock knitting 🙂

  2. becky c. August 10, 2007 at 11:10 pm #

    Hee hee! Monkey fever has reached NSW! You may think your trip to the frogpond has cured you, but I think not. The fever is strong, it will be back. 🙂

Leave a Reply

