Meet Mr Big

27 Aug

I have a new friend.

mr-big2.jpg

This is my new bread machine (for those of you who may be thinking “Hey, isn’t this supposed to be a knitting blog?” I have included the sock I cast on this morning, and some daffodils – happy Daffodil Day). His name is Mr Big. I don’t generally name my benchtop appliances, but this guy makes a 1.5kg loaf of bread, people. I think he deserves a name of his own.

Ever since the lamentable loss of my dear old bread machine a couple of weeks ago, I have been enduring an extended period of mourning (read: going over the budget trying to figure out how to scrape together the $250.00 to pay for the big bread machine I wanted, when I was now paying for bread on a daily basis). Then yesterday, my lovely husband picked up Mr Big at a garage sale for $10.00! Yay! He makes a really nice loaf, and the manual is full of scrumptious recipes, and I get to have my house smell like fresh bread again.

I am a happy woman.

P.S. Mr Big is busy making a loaf of Sourdough as I type this. I’ll post pics later today when he’s done.

Added later: Here’s the pic of finished sourdough. As I have always found with this particular premix (Laucke Barossa Sourdough), it rose up too high for the bread machine, so I took it out and finished it off in the oven. Thus, we have a free-form loaf of what Sasquatch likes to call “Blob bread”. No matter the shape, it is damn good bread, and I recommend it highly.

27082007-003.jpg

3 Responses to “Meet Mr Big”

  1. Mandie August 27, 2007 at 6:04 pm #

    Mr Big is indeed beautiful, even more so because he was found by ones husband at a bargain price 🙂 Way to go Mr KMF!
    Let me know how the Sourdough goes….major, major LOVE!
    Nice socks BTW.

  2. elizabeth August 28, 2007 at 12:59 am #

    Oh wow.

    So what’s up with bread makers? Because I remember my mom having one and it was either an incredible amount of work (bake, clean, etc) or made terrible bread (which could be her fault, or the machine’s). I’d really like to start making my own bread, but because of that I’m a little apprehensive. I assume you love your machine! Do you recommend a “starter” machine?

  3. becky c. August 28, 2007 at 1:08 am #

    Oh man, I can smell that sourdough from here! What a great garage sale find – your hubby rocks!

Leave a Reply

