Several Kinds of Progress

3 Sep

Yes, I have progress to report!

Firstly, I have broken the 2000 barrier on Ravelry! Woohoo! There are 1868 people in front of me as of 8 o’clock this morning.

Second, I have started the second of my Mother-in-law’s socks. I haven’t quite finished Sock The First, because when I got to the point where I start decreasing for the toe, I discovered I’m going to run out of yarn. Now, I’ll be damned if I’m gonna rip and reknit the wretched thing! When I split the skein of Jigsaw, I ended up with one ball slightly bigger than the other, as you do (or at least, you do when you’re working with my scale, which only weighs in 5g increments. I need a new, more sensitive scale, but that would be money out of the yarn budget). Sock The First was knit from the smaller ball, so I’ll knit the second sock, and if I run out of yarn I will buy a coordinating solid for the toes.

03092007-002.jpg

The point is, I’m about 15cm along the cuff of Sock The Second, and that is a Good Thing (another Good Thing: my Father-in-law received his Father’s Day Socks, and they fit, and he loves them).

Third, I have started the first of my Dad’s socks. They are Charades, in cafe latte with a chocolate toe and heel (I prefer to think of them in these coffee-related terms, because otherwise I would have to face up to the reality that they are actually beige and brown, and I think at this point that that would suck the will to live right out of me).

03092007-005.jpg

Finally, my poor hubby got this for Father’s Day:

03092007-004.jpg

He got other presents, too, but I feel badly that he got yarn (for us, yarn would be a fabulous gift, but he is a muggle, when all is said and done. You can’t really expect him to get it). The yarn isn’t really this orange, more of a brick red – the same colours as FIL’s socks, just reversed. These will have cables up the side, not unlike the Harlot’s recent Earl Grey Socks, but with a contrast heel and toe.

2 Responses to “Several Kinds of Progress”

  1. cathy September 3, 2007 at 6:32 pm #

    Love those socks,very comfy welcome home sort,thanks for the direction to wee cable ones too, Hubby might be lucky for Xmas!!

  2. becky c. September 4, 2007 at 7:35 am #

    Don’t you hate the “am I gonna run out of yarn?” drama?! Cool colors too. The coffee socks will be very pretty, but I know what you mean about knitting with…erm…less than vibrant colors.

Leave a Reply

