Spring Has Sprung

15 Sep

I love spring. It’s absolutely my favourite time of year. The weather is starting to warm up and the bulbs are out, the plum and cherry trees are blossoming their little hearts out, the willows are wearing pale green lace. It’s just such a pretty time, I thought I’d share it with you all out there in Blogland.

I had a wander through the Orange Botanical Gardens yesterday, just for you.

spring1.jpg

Weeping Cherries

spring2.jpg

spring4.jpg

Crabapples: red above, and white below

spring5.jpg

spring7.jpg

Not sure what these are, but they are pretty.

Updated to add: Taphophile tells me these are Hellebore, and the lady knows her flowers (check out her blog – she grows beanies in her garden!)

spring9.jpg

I love tulips. I used to loathe them and all they stood for (I grew up in Bowral, so tulips meant being inundated with camera toting tourists for two weeks every year), but since we moved away I’ve forgiven them for past crimes, and we are good friends now.

For the yarn-obsessed (you know who you are):
spring-yarn1-2.jpg

These are Grape Hyacinths growing wild in my backyard, overlooking a bowl of Heirloom 12ply superwash merino in shades 760 (red), 787 (navy) and 799 (pea green), destined for Baby Surprise Greatness. The colours aren’t very accurate – it seems the morning sun is a bit much for the yarn (although the grass and hyacinths are right on the money). The bowl is a hand-thrown lovely from Carcoar Pottery.

spring-yarn2-2.jpg

This ball of Tofutsies followed me home. It wants to be Christmas socks for someone.

And last, but by no means least, it is 10.14am on Saturday and I am 257 people away from my Ravelry invite! I will be there any minute, baby!

4 Responses to “Spring Has Sprung”

  1. Gemma September 15, 2007 at 10:43 am #

    Chick what a pretty sight your blog is. I found you from the Ewe Give Me the Knits blog, cause everyone loves Mandie! Thanks for the spring loveliness, Sydney is just too warm to get the blossoms you get in Orange. Gemma

  2. becky c. September 15, 2007 at 11:14 am #

    Those weeping cherries!! I have never seen those – so beautiful! I like your BSJ colors. Better cast on quick before Ravelry sucks you in. What will your Ravelry name be so I can find you and make you my friend? (I’m Knitasha)

    Hey, I haven’t seen any pix of your OTHER skein of Tofutsies knit up yet! 🙂

  3. Taphophile September 15, 2007 at 2:09 pm #

    Thanks for taking us for a flower-filled walk. That weeping cherry is divine!

    The little flowers you couldn’t identify are helebores. I love them because they flower from the end of winter through most of spring. Those white ones are lovely. Mine are a purple colour.

    Sock yarn is kind of clingy. You just have to lookat it in a friendly way and it jumps right in your bag and won’t let go. It’s a very pretty colourway.

  4. Mandie September 15, 2007 at 11:39 pm #

    THANK YOU for the stunning Spring pics….!!
    We need to talk….you grew up in Bowral huh?

Leave a Reply

