I Do Love a Surprise

18 Sep

My brother and his wife recently made me a brand new nephew (wasn’t that nice of them?). I didn’t actually knit anything before the birth, because I was hoping against hope that the ultrasound technician would prove to be mistaken and this baby would turn out to be a girl (there is a dire shortage of girls in my family, and so many adorable baby girl patterns to knit!). Obviously, he didn’t turn out to be anything but his dear little self, and I am making him a Baby Surprise Jacket, in a nice manly colour scheme of green, navy and red.

09-18bsj2.jpg

The yarn in question is Heirloom Easy Care 12 ply (worsted weight), a 100% Australian merino superwash yarn that is beautifully soft and squooshy, and it’s knitting up like lightning on a 5mm Addi Turbo circular. I am loving the BSJ pattern, too. The garter stitch is a no-brainer, perfect for TV-knitting (or that space of time in the morning when I have just enough mental function to drink coffee and snarl at passers-by), but the shaping is making it interesting enough that I’m not bored. Of course, I’m just about to start the increases, so stand by for it all to go to hell and me to lose my mind.

How cool is Ravelry? I am having the best time playing about in there, looking at other people’s projects, getting ideas for future projects of my own, looking in on forum discussions, it’s all very exciting. If you’re not already there, you should definitely sign up.

Come on, all the cool kids are doing it.

2 Responses to “I Do Love a Surprise”

  1. KTMay/KnoobieKnitter September 19, 2007 at 12:01 am #

    HI! I’m a friend of Becky’s (Knitasha)! I was going through her blog roll and found you. She was just telling me about you yesterday, so I thought I’d stop and see whatcha are doing! I LOVE the colors in your BSJ…very MANLY! Congrats on becoming an aunt!

  2. becky c. September 20, 2007 at 7:14 am #

    Very cool random stripes! That is going to be a sharp BSJ!

    P.S. I got a new niece today! 🙂

Leave a Reply

