Deep Down, I Knew It All Along.

27 Sep

Brooklyn Tweed posted yesterday about frogging recalcitrant UFO’s. He talks about the liberating feeling of – oh, he says it better than I ever could. Go read it, I’ll wait.

You’re back. Good, huh? My point is, he made me realise something.

The Raglan from Tartarus must go.

18092007-003.JPG

For those of you who came in late, here’s the back story (scroll down, the culprit is at the bottom of the post – see that puckering along the seam? That’s what you get when you stubbornly try to fit raglans that are plainly mismatched, as in 6.5 cm difference in length. Can you say denial, boys and girls?).

For a good long while now I’ve been stubbornly ignoring the truth, announcing that I really was going to fix the problem. In June, I ripped back the raglans intending to knit in the round from the armscye up, and then sew up the side/underarm seams. Well, obviously that didn’t happen, or I wouldn’t be writing this post. I kept putting it off because I didn’t have a circular long enough for the job – I was waiting until I got the KnitPicks Options set (which I still don’t have, but there’s a certain birthday coming up in a few weeks, and certain persons have been made aware how happy they would make me, etc, etc). Then there were socks to knit. Many, many socks. And here it is September and the weather is beginning to warm up, and it is now four years since I bought this yarn, and I still don’t have a jumper out of it, despite hundreds of hours of knitting.

Add to that the increasing frequency of the Jiminy Cricket voice when I look at certain patterns (mostly this one), saying things like “Hey, that would look really nice in brown. Don’t you have a whole bunch of brown Jo Sharp in your stash? Oh, no, my mistake. That’s a work in progress, isn’t it? And when exactly was the last time you knit a stitch on it?” (Jiminy is a sarcastic little bug).

I guess the moral to the story is: listen to your yarn. It usually knows what it wants to be. It definitely knows what it doesn’t want to be.

18092007-006.JPG

5 Responses to “Deep Down, I Knew It All Along.”

  1. Taphophile September 27, 2007 at 8:09 pm #

    Brave woman to enter the frog pond. Best of luck with it.

  2. becky c. September 28, 2007 at 5:53 am #

    You frogged a whole sweater! Man, I am way too stubborn for that – I just hide the failures and then deny their existence.

  3. Mandie September 28, 2007 at 1:08 pm #

    Oh my lawdy!
    You’ve rendered me speechless. Taph is right. Brave chick.

  4. KTMay October 1, 2007 at 1:03 am #

    FROGS!!! They’re everywhere! I’m with Becky….HIDE it…don’t frog unless ALL hope is lost!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Today, on AMAZING PRODUCTS!!! « Kiss My Frog - March 1, 2008

    […] pullover (for those of you not familiar with this ongoing embarrassment, you can get the gist of it here). Well, here we are at the starting point of attempting to turn this bloody bedamned yarn into an […]

Leave a Reply

