Complete-o-rama

1 Oct

I have several FO’s to show, partly because of the new camera issues mentioned in the last post, but mostly just because I’ve been slack. So, in order of completion (and with apologies to anyone on dial up):

Mother-In-Law Socks (take two)

I finished these a couple of weeks ago, I just hadn’t taken pics yet.

18092007-007.JPG

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern: Plain Vanilla socks, knit top-down
Yarn: Heirloom Jigsaw faux-isle print, colour 34
Needles: Knitpicks Classic Circular 2.5mm x 80cm, Magic Loop method
Notes: 2×2 twisted rib cuff, slip-stitch rib heel, standard decrease toe.

Dad’s Fathers Day Socks

I finished these on Friday, and they are still blocking in this pic:

18092007-008.JPG

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern: Charade by Sandra Park
Yarn: Cleckheaton Country Naturals 8ply, colour 1461 (latte) & 1825 (chocolate)
Needles: 3.25mm DPNs
Modifications: I changed the gauge, worked toe-up and added an afterthought heel.

Baby Surprise Jacket

Strictly speaking, this isn’t a finished object, as it still needs blocking, seaming and buttons. I have however finished the knitting part of the proceedings (cast off at 10.30 last night), and I’m so happy with it I couldn’t wait to show you:

18092007-004.JPG 18092007-005.JPG

Frogging the Raglan

I’ve finished ripping back the miserable thing, and here is the pile of yarn cakes (and the one ball I’ve never yet knit from)

brown-jo-sharp-dk.jpg

These still need to be skeined, washed, set and re-balled. I’ll try again after the hot weather is over. Probably BPT, though there are a few other patterns jumping up and down saying “Ooh, ooh, pick me! Pick me!” We shall see.

In Other News:

Today is the official start of Southern Summer of Socks (sign-ups are still open if you’re interested), so in honour of this Momentous Occasion I am casting on my hubby’s Extremely Belated Father’s Day Socks. The Harlot’s Earl Grey pattern in Cleckheaton Country Naturals 8ply, brick red and navy.

Finally, Becky, just for you – look!

tofutsies-and-apple-blossoms.jpg

The Tofutsies you sent me all those months ago has finally seen the needles. It’s only a gauge swatch, but it’s a start, yes? I’m thinking these are going to be my two-at-once socks. They are pictured with some blossoms that in a few months time will be lovely crunchy sweet-tart little apples (that’s if my boys can leave them alone that long – last year they yanked them all off the tree and threw them at one another before they were much bigger than a small plum).

6 Responses to “Complete-o-rama”

  1. Kate October 1, 2007 at 9:19 pm #

    Hey there Namesake!
    Thanks for visiting my blog 🙂 I’ve taken the opportunity to come over here and cruise through yours, and I have to say:
    * love the weeping cherries, and crabapples are so pretty!
    * I did that quiz and came out chocolate cake too (which figures, chocky being my default setting), but didn’t think I should blog it so soon after boasting about recent gym results ;P
    * The BSJ looks so very cool, I have to get my hands on some EZ books before my friends run out of babies!!!
    * There’s nothing wrong with a bit of plain vanilla every now and then :>
    I look forward to seeing your SSS progress!
    bye! Kate

  2. Bells October 1, 2007 at 9:34 pm #

    oh good work. I know you were struggling to get to the end of some of those projects – they all look fabulous!

  3. becky c. October 1, 2007 at 10:19 pm #

    Yay, socks! How is the Tofutsies to knit? Looks like there will be pooling.

  4. elizabeth October 2, 2007 at 11:13 am #

    That BSJ is adorable! And the Charades are so manly! I think I might make them for my dad’s Holiday present.

  5. Taphophile October 3, 2007 at 4:56 pm #

    I just love the fruit in your trees. Wonder what nursery would sell me a sock tree?

  6. KnoobieKnitter/KTMay October 4, 2007 at 8:09 am #

    Wow! You’ve been workin’ hard! Things look great! LOVE the BSJ!

    Bright Side: Your pyramid of yarn cakes is QUITE stunning!

    I want a pretty sock tree. Please send seeds. =)

Leave a Reply

