Submitted for your approval…

10 Oct

…one BSJ.

101020071.JPG

Front…

101020072.JPG

…and back

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Baby Surprise Jacket by Elizabeth Zimmerman
Yarn: Heirloom Easy Care 12ply; colour 787 (green) 3 1/2 balls, 760 (red) 1 ball, 799 (navy) 1 ball.
Needles: 5mm Addi Turbo 80cm circular
Modifications: I lengthened the sleeves a little, and as I opted for toggle/loop fastenings I didn’t need to make button holes, but otherwise I followed the pattern to the letter.

I can’t tell you how happy I am with this little jacket. I see many more EZ goodies in my future. Maybe even an Adult Surprise Jacket someday.

I had a very pleasant day by myself in Orange. I had a nice wander about the shops I never get to go into, because the boys would fiddle with all the pretty, shiny, breakable, expensive things. I went to the library and borrowed some books, and took myself to lunch, and as anticipated some yarn followed me home (this was not entirely an impulse buy – it is intended for Christmas gift socks).

101020073.JPG

Four balls of Patonyle, in a denim-blue and a light beige. The beige will likely get a dip in the dye-pot in the very near future.

Meanwhile, back to the Sock Mines.

6 Responses to “Submitted for your approval…”

  1. becky c. October 10, 2007 at 9:19 pm #

    Love your BSJ – those toggles are great. Can’t believe you bought more sock yarn! I thought you were socked-out for awhile.

  2. amy October 10, 2007 at 9:49 pm #

    Very nice all around! Nice BSJ, GREAT-sounding day. Good for you!

  3. Bells October 10, 2007 at 9:51 pm #

    oh nice! I really hope to get around to making a BSJ soon. They all look so great. Love your photo.

    Will look forward to seeing how the dye pot goes!

  4. elizabeth October 11, 2007 at 5:18 am #

    Your bsj is adorable! Maybe you’ll make a tomten next?

  5. KTMay October 11, 2007 at 7:05 am #

    Ohhhhhhhh that sweater!!!! Ohhhhhhh those colors!!!! OHHHHHHH I love it alll!

  6. Kate October 12, 2007 at 3:13 pm #

    Very cute! Nice to see a boy’s cardi – so many of them are for the girls only, and we don’t want the boys to feel left out now do we??? (nice accent lollipop flower too :> )

    Oh, and sock yarn – local RedSpot no longer has Patonyle (of course) and haven’t been to the other big LYS for ages and ages (I’m a good girl, really I am), so don’t know if they have it either! Lucky you to score some dye-able skeins!!

    sounds like you had a really nice day, and I hope you spread your lunch things out to take up the whole table (and consciously enjoyed the lack of spills and squabbles) – oh, I think I’m living vicariously here… Mr 7 just told me that I might like to a) make some origami boats from his library book and/or b) read his Secret Seven book if I have any free time this afternoon. He then argued with my decision to read my own book thankyouverymuch 😛 So I’m blog-surfing!

Leave a Reply

