…and a good sock.

15 Oct

Beatrice: With a good leg and a good foot, uncle, and money enough in his purse, such a man would win any woman in the world, if he could get her good-will.

Much Ado About Nothing, ACT II, Scene I.

151020071.JPG

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Earl Grey, by Stephanie Pearl McPhee
Yarn: Cleckheaton Country Naturals 8ply, colour 1832 (brick red) and 1812 (navy)
Needles: 3.25mm dpns
Modifications: I changed the gauge, but otherwise I followed the pattern .

I’m very happy with these, and more importantly my hubby loves them. They are the first thing I have ever knit for him (which is pretty bad, considering we’ve been married for better than 17 years).

In accordance with item #1 on my personal challenge list, we are two weeks into the knitalong, and I have two socks to show for my trouble. So far, so good.

I have cast on my next sock, too. It’s a basic toe-up out of the Knitpicks Simple Stripes yarn that my Sockapalooza pal Becky sent me in August, which I am knitting continental, in accordance with Goal #4 of my Personal Challenge list. It is s l o w going, but if I keep practicing I can’t help but get faster, right? Right?

151020072.JPG

I don’t know if you can see it, but I’ve incorporated a tiny bit of texture into the sock. I’m working [K2, K2tbl] , which gives a very subtle ribbed effect that is keeping me amused and preventing the boredom-induced liquefaction of my brain that inevitably results from endless stocking stitch, even when I’m working with a new technique like Continental knitting.

Before you ask, that trashy little tart ball of Tofutsies that was touting its wares calling my name last week is having a long hard think about its behaviour. Swatches were knit. Lies were told. I don’t want to talk about it.

6 Responses to “…and a good sock.”

  1. Taphophile October 15, 2007 at 9:45 pm #

    The Earl Grey’s look fantastic. Truly impressed by knitting continental style. Can’t get my head around it at all.

  2. amy October 15, 2007 at 9:50 pm #

    Maybe because I learned to crochet first, I can’t figure out how one would throw the yarn! When I began knitting, my sister said, “Make sure to hold the yarn in your left hand, whatever else you do,” and she was right. Once you get the hang of it, I bet you’ll fly. I knit sooooooo quickly. Purling was more awkward, but once I sat down and practiced that, it went quickly too. Good thing, because my knitting time is, um, when, again? Oh, right, when the kids are asleep.

    What toe-up pattern are you using? I want to do that, I truly do. I do, I do…

  3. happy spider October 15, 2007 at 9:52 pm #

    Woohoo! i really do love those socks… you’re hubby is lucky, worth the wait i reckon 🙂
    good luck with the toe-up thing. not something i have enjoyed so far, but maybe that will change. i am a creature of habit.

  4. KTMay October 15, 2007 at 9:59 pm #

    Ohhhhhhh…nicely done! The knitting continental is a lovely, natural thing….the purling continental gives me abdominal distension. True Story.

  5. becky c. October 15, 2007 at 11:17 pm #

    Well, I like the simple stripes, but I am very sory to hear the Tofutsies is not behaving. Tell it to shape up or you’ll ship it back to America!

    A husband that wants hand-knitted socks and means to wear them? This is where our lives differ!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. You Say ‘Potatomus’, and I Say ‘Pomatomus’* « Kiss My Frog - January 16, 2008

    […] was a while ago, I admit. I was never very happy with the toe, so I ripped it back and waited for inspiration to […]

Leave a Reply

