Happy Happy Joy Joy

21 Oct

I’m a little behind schedule with this week’s sock. Friday is normally my big knitting day, because Sasquatch is at preschool, and I can focus on knitting (instead of the 32,576 questions he asks me every hour). This Friday however, I got a little bit carried away playing with my new toys.

So here we have half a sock:

sorbet-swirl-001.jpg

I love this sock! It is intended for a Christmas gift, but once the Silly Season is over, I’m thinking I’d like a pair in this same colourway (TOFUtsies #847). It reminds me of rainbow sherbet, so I’ve decided to call these socks Sorbet Swirl. Love, love, love.

Several people have asked me how I’m liking the Harmony Needles (it seems I may be the first person in Australia to get her hands on a set). The answer is, I’m in lurve. If they weren’t so pointy, I’d roll around on the floor with them. They are everything that I like in a knitting needle, plus they are stripey and brightly coloured. Totally worth every penny.

Finally, a word of advice for all the preschoolers out there: when throwing a tantrum, it completely ruins the moment if you stamp your foot and your pants fall down. Your mother is much more likely to fall about laughing than to cave in to your demands.

Ask me how I know.

7 Responses to “Happy Happy Joy Joy”

  1. amy October 21, 2007 at 10:44 pm #

    I have to admit, the tantrums make me laugh quite often. I try not to do it, because, you know, I want to take them seriously in their anger and all, because I HATE when I’m throwing a tantrum and Chris laughs…oh, see, I’ve lost all credibility as the supposed adult.

    Purty socks.

  2. becky c. October 22, 2007 at 2:22 am #

    ROFLMAO!!! What a cute little goofball he is. Love the half-sock – the colors are great and the pattern is pretty too.

  3. Taphophile October 22, 2007 at 8:00 am #

    Completely gorgeous sock! Itching to start on my Tofutsies now – damn it. Sniggering just a little at the tantrum scene. 🙂

  4. Taphophile October 22, 2007 at 8:01 am #

    And of course, am totally green over the Harmonies. I was SO hoping you’d hate them and then I could go back to being happy with my opshop finds.

  5. alexpanda October 22, 2007 at 9:14 am #

    Nice socks! I might try out the Harmony needles soon. I’ve been so in love with my Addis, though…

  6. elizabeth October 22, 2007 at 9:15 am #

    Oh crap! That last comment was from me, but I was accidentally signed in on my friend’s wordpress account. Stupid technology!

  7. Kate October 24, 2007 at 9:16 pm #

    Nice sock – so how does the Tofutsies feel? it looks pretty cute!

    gotta love the shooting-self-in-foot style of tantrum-throwers – much more authentic than those who look around, carefully pick the softest part of the rug on the carpet, and then fling themselves down and start yelling 😛
    enjoy the giggles!

Leave a Reply

