Totally Tubular, Dude!

27 Oct

(and so saying, she tells everyone exactly how old she is).

The point is, I have finished Sorbet Swirl sock #1 with a tubular bind-off, and it is just the absolute duck’s guts, people (and there I go again with the age-specific vernacular)! I have been playing about lately with a tubular cast-on, and I like it a lot: simple (if a little fiddly), and very, very beautiful with ribbing. I had read somewhere on the blogs about a matching bind-off, but had never actually seen a tutorial, so I Googled it, and started working my way through the results. My heart began to sink as I waded through one confusing set of instructions after another, all with still photos (I have difficulty with still pics – I learn more easily from video). Then lo and behold, the brilliant Lucy Neatby came to the rescue (she is now on my list of Superhero Knitters)! Take a look – it is so clever and easy I can’t even tell you! (I learned it with no pics of any kind – not even those newfangled moving pictures!)

Anyway, here’s the result:

27102007-001.jpg

Stretchy, yet still pleasing to the eye; I love it – this will be my default toe-up cast-off from now on.

6 Responses to “Totally Tubular, Dude!”

  1. Taphophile October 27, 2007 at 6:59 pm #

    Well done! You did a brilliant job conquering that technique. Lucy Neatby is, indeed, a goddess.

  2. becky c. October 27, 2007 at 10:46 pm #

    Dude, I am old too, but I have never uttered the phrase “duck’s guts”. I’m guessing that it is equivalent to what the youngsters call “da bomb?”

    The tubular cast off is way cool! I have used it a couple times on socks and also on my Fair Isle yoke sweater neck. I haven’t learned tubular cast-on. Can you recommend a reference?

  3. amy October 28, 2007 at 12:41 am #

    I still don’t get it from that explanation, but I bet if I looked it up and THEN read her explanation, I would. πŸ˜‰ The sock looks beautiful.

  4. kms October 29, 2007 at 4:48 pm #

    noice! and happy birthday to you too, by the way πŸ™‚

  5. kms October 29, 2007 at 4:51 pm #

    oops. for some reason, i thought it was your birthday THIS weekend and you got your knitpicks early, but no, it was last weekend. der. that would be a sign of old age i suspect!

  6. KTMay October 31, 2007 at 1:27 am #

    Tubular cast-off? Ugh…just something else I need to learn! Hee hee.

    LOOKS GREAT!!! Duck guts?

Leave a Reply

