One Monkey Down, And A Circle.

5 Nov

05112007-001.jpg

The first Shock the Monkey sock, she is finito!

I had a little trouble with the heel, which refused to cooperate in my plan to work it with a slip-stitch heel flap, but after ripping back twice, the third time I caved and just worked it in stocking stitch, and it was much happier. Amazingly, this time I remembered to jot down what I was doing as I did it, so there is a better than even chance that I will get a pretty close match for the mate – I’ll keep you posted.

Next up, I thought maybe it was time I did something with some of my birthday yarn, so yesterday I cast on for the Lara Pinwheel Sweater:

pinwheel-bb-plate.jpg

The colour in this pic is way off – it’s actually a nice brick red.

I did not love the cast-on for this – way too fiddly! But now that I have got a little way into it, I’m “happier’n a tornader in a trailer park” (the boys have been watching Cars a lot this week).

I’ve got 30 rounds done, and am up to 120 stitches per round, which makes it the size of a bread and butter plate, as you can see in the above pic. This is nice plain knitting that I can do without a whole lot of thought, and I’m casting on some cabled socks (another Christmas present) tomorrow, which will be a little more mentally stimulating. A nice mix, I think.

Stay tuned for the whole plan to go straight to hell.

7 Responses to “One Monkey Down, And A Circle.”

  1. becky c. November 5, 2007 at 9:42 pm #

    Gasp! I just knit toe-up anklets, too. (Not Monkeys though) Isn’t it crazy how poorly our cameras capture color sometimes? I don’t think I ever got a true pic of your Bayerische socks.

  2. amy November 5, 2007 at 10:33 pm #

    sooner or later I’m going to give in and knit that pinwheel sweater. I loved it the first time I saw it on someone’s blog and clicked back to the pattern, but what stopped me was, Where on earth would I wear something so nice? That’s still kind of stopping me…

  3. elizabeth November 6, 2007 at 12:39 am #

    Your monkey sock is adorable! I’ve never seen a finished pinwheel sweater (“To the Ravelry, Batman!”), I’m excited to see yours!

  4. KTMay November 6, 2007 at 2:41 am #

    Wow, what’s up with you folks and the anklets?!?! They look great!

    Pinwheel sweater? Off to Ravelry to check it out (with Elizabeth…does that make me “Robin?”)! When I first saw the bottom, it kinda looked like a Lucy Bag!

  5. Saffron November 8, 2007 at 10:16 am #

    I love the ‘Shock The Monkey’ Sock! 🙂 Love that color and it looks comfy! 🙂

  6. Jenny Newman July 12, 2008 at 3:20 am #

    Hey this is great! I love the alternate edge of garter lace. Can you give me a brief how to on it? Thanks so much! Jenny

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Despina « Kiss My Frog - January 4, 2008

    […] is Cookie A. Seeing as how I’ve just knit three Monkeys in a row (I finished the second Shock the Monkey anklet yesterday), I thought I’d do something different. Accordingly, I cast on Pomatomus […]

Leave a Reply

