Back On The Horse That Threw Me

21 Nov

My wrist is all rested and back at the top of it’s game, so I’ve been knitting again since midway through Sunday (I know I said Monday, but I was going crazy, and the Pinwheel was right there beside me. When was the last time you went four whole days without knitting? Hmm?), and I’ve got the Brick House Pinwheel up to the point where I set up for the sleeves. It’s big enough now that I’ve moved it onto the 150cm cable (have I mentioned in the last few minutes how much I love my Harmony interchangeables? Lovelovelovelovelovelovelovelove). I’ve shown it here with the same bread and butter plate that I used in this pic for scale. It is currently up to 320 stitches around and is 109cm (43 inches) across, flat but unstretched.

brick-house-pinwheel-320.jpg

Also, my Dad’s Rainy Day Blues sock is finished. It only needs a friend and a wash and a block, and is pictured with the 93cm of leftover yarn from one 50g ball of Patonyle. This is why I love toe-up construction – if I had worked top-down, I would probably have made the leg a little longer (I like me a long leg), and I would have run out of yarn by the time I was halfway down the foot.

rainy-day-blues3.jpg

Finally, I’ve made some executive decisions. I am not going to make myself crazy by trying to keep to impossible deadlines. I will knit what I want, as it pleases me, and if everyone gets a knit gift, great, but if I don’t get all the Christmas socks finished, I will make something else. I have more than one string to my bow, after all. I sew quite well, I’m a better-than-average baker, and many years ago I dabbled in chocolate-making. If I can’t organise a nice hand-made Christmas without giving myself a carpal tunnel injury, then there’s something very wrong.

I did have one other pretty cool thing I was working on over the weekend, but it’s not quite ready to blog yet. I’ll keep you posted.

4 Responses to “Back On The Horse That Threw Me”

  1. amy November 21, 2007 at 10:47 pm #

    I’m not giving everyone handknit gifts, either. Handmade, yes, but not all handknit. I simply can’t knit for everyone on my list. Some won’t appreciate it. Others (gasp!!) don’t like wool. Actually, those people are the same person. I knit a nasty acrylic scarf once. Never again.

  2. becky c. November 22, 2007 at 2:25 am #

    Yay, you’re back! That sock is really cool. Any chance you could take a close up photo of the stitch pattern?

  3. tinkingbell November 22, 2007 at 8:49 am #

    Pretty pinwheel – yup Only people who appreciate hand made get hand made – the other get bought crap – I mean presents! Glad th hand/wrist is better (4 days without knitting – I’d be stabbing someone with the Harmonys – definitely!

  4. cathy November 22, 2007 at 5:09 pm #

    I agree,I made 4 face cloths in cotton in quick succession and sore from that,but Im trying to knit a baby shawl in 2 weeks and started planning socks for two friends but I have to be straight I wont have time…..

Leave a Reply

