My Favourite Things About Blogging

23 Nov

I love this whole blogging lurk. I love being able to put my thoughts out there and have other people’s thoughts come back to me like magic. I love the friends I have made, and the thoughts that they put out, and the knitting they show me. I love Ravelry, and the forty-two bazillion patterns in my queue (okay, it’s really only 72, but it feels like way more).

And the real-world icing on the virtual cake? I get cool parcels in the mail now! The postie used to just bring bills and junk mail, but now every so often I get a parcel of goodies from someone I have discovered thanks to the Knit-blogosphere. It might be something as tiny as a few stitch-markers, one day hopefully it will be something as big as a spinning wheel. Or it might be books, like these:

goody-tree1.jpg

goody-tree2.jpg

or it might be a magazine like this:

goody-tree3.jpg

or it might be yarn like this:

goody-tree4.jpg

or it might be some little sample packets of acid dyes like this:

goody-tree5.jpg

I bought these things from my gorgeous friend Mandie, colour genius, dye-pot goddess and proprietress of Ewe Give Me The Knits! If you don’t already know Mandie, go check out her store. She has the most amazingly delicious fibre there – if I knew how to spin, you’d have to beat me away with a stick.

The other reason I like getting this sort of thing in the mail is if I’m getting actual physical stuff, then you guys are all really real, and not just figments of my imagination. You see, I occasionally have this lurking feeling that I’m making this whole thing up and there is no blogosphere, and that I’m crazier than a fading Southern belle in a Tennesee Williams play….

Um, did I just say that out loud?

6 Responses to “My Favourite Things About Blogging”

  1. amy November 23, 2007 at 11:13 am #

    I’m real! I’m real!! I feel like I live too much in the computer too, but I’m real!!

    re: your comment on Vaughan, luckily he has my ears. 🙂

  2. tinkingbell November 23, 2007 at 12:30 pm #

    Yup – love the fact that I’m not the only knitter in the world really – it just seems that way in ‘real’ life – and love my blogpals – and love the fact I can point to blogpals who live real lives (as opposed to my boring one) when my Husby says I’m a sad git!!!

  3. gemma November 23, 2007 at 1:18 pm #

    Hi chick, of course we’re real. Let me just warn you off spinning, its seriously addictive, especially some of the things Mandie provides.
    We all love to read one another’s lives too! better than soap operas, and nicer pictures.

    cheers, gem

  4. Taphophile November 23, 2007 at 1:54 pm #

    Hey – I’m unreal and you are too! 😉 Actually, saw the Ilga Leja items in your Ravelry queue. I blame you entirely for a very long list of her patterns that I now want. When you’re ready to order, lmk and we can share postage etc. if you like.

  5. chris November 23, 2007 at 10:21 pm #

    the connections we can make are wonderful. And that is a nice assortment of mail you have!

  6. becky c. November 24, 2007 at 2:13 pm #

    Cream yarn and acid dye! Somebody’s gonna have a little fun, eh? Can’t wait to see what you make.

    – Imaginary Becky

Leave a Reply

