Socks and Markets

2 Dec

My Sock Tree has been busy again:

rainy-day-blues-finished.jpg

Rainy Day Blues Socks

The Vital Statistics:
Pattern:
Joe’s Office Socks by Anna Peck
Yarn: Paton’s Patonyle 4ply, colour 4303, denim blue
Needles: 2.75mm Knitpicks Classic Circulars, (Magic Loop method)
Modifications: I knit these toe-up, as usual, with a short-row toe and heel, 1×1 rib and Lucy Neatby’s tubular cast-off. I also included seven moss-stitch diamonds scattered at random over the two socks, symbolic of my Dad’s seven grandchildren (these are his Christmas present). Overall, I’m very happy with them, and hope my Dad will be too.

In other news, today I took my boys to the Christmas Markets at Millthorpe, a village about ten minutes drive from here. They had a gorgeous time on the Jumping Castle,

bouncing.jpg

And I got a bargain on a hand-thrown pottery dish

pottery1.jpg

Five dollars, can you believe it? It matches exactly to some others I already own, see?

pottery2.jpg

I bought a beautiful loaf of sourdough baked in a wood-fired oven

crumbs.jpg

It was delicious (you have to be pretty quick around here when there’s sourdough involved!)

Despite the sad lack of woolly goodness at the markets, I’d call that a good day.

8 Responses to “Socks and Markets”

  1. bells December 2, 2007 at 3:30 pm #

    what a great day – socks in a tree, pottery (that matches!) and boys having fun. Oh and sourdough. Sounds perfect to me.

  2. Melinda December 2, 2007 at 7:21 pm #

    Sounds like a beautiful and refreshing day! I love the pottery dish.

  3. becky c. December 3, 2007 at 12:59 am #

    That pottery is lovely. The blue is just delicious.

    Such a good idea to incorporate number of grandkids into the sock design!

    Becky

  4. amy December 3, 2007 at 5:53 am #

    Weren’t those the socks that nearly did you in? Hurrah for getting the best of them. They look great.

    Fun time at the Christmas Markets! Alas, not everyone understands the appeal of wooly goodness. (I can’t imagine why not….)

  5. tinkingbell December 3, 2007 at 7:59 am #

    Sounds like a fun day – but no wool – sigh*, never mind, wool can’t be our whole lives (can it?).
    Love the pottery and sourdough – mmmmm!

  6. Rose Red December 3, 2007 at 8:00 am #

    Love the socks – especially your inclusion of the moss stitch squares, that is fabulous!

  7. elizabeth December 3, 2007 at 12:54 pm #

    Those socks are awesome. Very classy…and I cannot believe a hand thrown dish was $5. What a steal!

  8. Kate December 3, 2007 at 2:48 pm #

    You had a lovely haul! and hard on the heels (hee hee) of those knitty books and things from the previous post! I’m with you on the non-martyring approach to xmas prezzies – it is not likely to make xmas any better (and we must learn from la Harlot, who leads by example every year… example of what is up to the reader :> )
    Not jealous of the sourdough – we had wraps, baguettes (proper!!) and beer damper in the past 4 days, and are going out tonight.
    (a little envious of your books and dyeing kit though, but a quick meditation with purple bamboo/cotton in my hands will see me through (too hot for alpaca))

Leave a Reply

