Consulting the Oracle

5 Dec

As well as Christmas socks, I have been knitting on my Brick House pinwheel sweater, and am rapidly approaching the point where I have to make a decision. You see, the pattern calls for a wide band of crochet lace around the body of the sweater and at the sleeve cuffs, but I don’t crochet. I know the mechanics of it, but I don’t enjoy it, and it makes my hands hurt, and I’m not too fussed on the fabric created. So I’m going to use a knitted lace instead (and let’s not get into the whole knitted lace/lace knitting thing here – I know there is a difference, I just can’t remember which is which), but the question is, which lace?

I’ve been busily researching the subject, and I have swatched, and narrowed it down to a short-list of four possibilities, but I can’t decide. Therefore, I am consulting the Bloggy Oracle (that would be you).

Here we have Swatch the First:

lace-swatch2.jpg

This is from the Cathedral Windows Shawl by Liz Haywood for YARN Magazine #6 April 2007. On the right, we have it exactly as written in the pattern, with doubled yarn-overs in the edging, and on the left, I’ve modified it slightly, with just a single YO. I’ll call these swatches 1A and 1B respectively.

Swatch the Second:

lace-swatch1.jpg

The same pattern, only I worked it in Garter stitch instead of Stocking Stitch.

And finally, Swatch the Third:

catharina-swatch1.jpg

This is from a Faroese Shawl pattern suggested by Becky. The pattern is called Catharina, by Myrna Stahman.

I am leaning towards swatch 1B for several reasons, not least because Cathedral Windows is already set up to be knit around the outside of a circular garment, while Catharina is designed to be knit back-and-forth and thus would require some recalibration, which really isn’t an option this close to Christmas – my brain just ain’t up to it, people. However, I am not set in stone on this, and would love to hear what you have to say on the subject.

P.S. I am also swatching for the final pair of Christmas socks. I had always planned to use the Orchid Socks pattern with this yarn (in fact, I bought the yarn with this pattern in mind), but now that I see it knit up, I just don’t know. Do we hates it?

orchid-swatch1.jpg

Colour reproduction is horrible here – it’s not really that drab grey; it is actually a rather pretty lilac marl TOFUtsies .

8 Responses to “Consulting the Oracle”

  1. Mandie December 5, 2007 at 10:02 pm #

    Oh gawd. They’re all beautiful. I’m no help at all am I?
    Keep your fingers crossed and the kettle hot πŸ˜‰

  2. Taphophile December 5, 2007 at 10:10 pm #

    I’m going with swatch the first. The double yos will give that little bit of extra drape I reckon. You know that Wendyhas just knitted the lace onto hers and has written up her lace pattern?

  3. amy December 6, 2007 at 12:03 am #

    I’m no help at all. I would need to see it held right up against the sweater, preferably while it’s on you. I think they’re all pretty; it all comes down to drape and length, I think. And what you feel like knitting, of course. (You do know a crocheted edging would go much faster, once you got the hang of crochet? Just saying. I don’t think I could face the miles of lace edging you have before you. Sheesh, I’ll just shut up now.)

    I think the sock looks nice–I’m not sure what you’re seeing. ?

  4. becky c. December 6, 2007 at 12:47 am #

    I totally agree with using 1B and I think it will be lovely! I’m less enthused about the socks – I guess I like lace with a sold color better.

  5. gemma December 6, 2007 at 6:21 am #

    Like swatch 1B, very nice! and the socks swatch looks good, no probs there

  6. Kate December 8, 2007 at 7:19 am #

    I kind of like the very first, the as-written, because I like the laciness of the double yo’s. However, like Amy and Taph, for me the issue is the drape – how much structure do you want in the edging? Is it to be an everyday cardi, and if so, would a drapey edging get in the way or provide a nice bit of femininity? If it’s for good, I’d say go for fancy!!

    And the socks – what’s your favourite orchid? Will these remind you of it when on your feet (as opposed to blue-grey stuff that I sincerely believe is no where near your normal skin colour!!)???

  7. Taphophile December 11, 2007 at 1:30 pm #

    The colour is pretty like a Singapore orchid – if it gets too much more purple it might obscure the lace, though. It’s a gorgeous pattern. πŸ™‚

  8. Jejune December 11, 2007 at 3:18 pm #

    Beautiful work!

    In answer to your question, I’m not sure about how to go about bidding on my collage, but I’ve emailled my contact at BookCrossing to find out – stay tuned on my blog πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

