Dead to us.

15 Dec

Friday (as I may have mentioned) is the day Sasquatch goes to Preschool. Yesterday was his Christmas Party day, so off we went, armed with a plate of fairy bread and high hopes. When I went to pick him up at 5pm, he was super-excited, talking so fast about everything he’d done, I could barely understand him.

We get home, and we are unpacking his backpack, and out comes…. a book! (Tawny Scrawny Lion – do you remember that one from when you were a kid? It was one of my favourites, and I was so happy when I found out that Little Golden Books had re-released all the old classics…. but I digress) I held it up, all astonishment, and said “What’s this?”

Sasquatch looks at it, and his excitement suddenly turns to slumped shoulders and hopeless despair (I swear, this kid is the most appalling ham – he could give Shatner a run for his money!) . “Santa came to the party,” he tells me in lugubrious tones.

“But that’s a good thing, surely?” I asked.

“No! He gave me a stupid book!” (Just to clarify, Sasquatch loves books – the library is one of his favourite places in the world, and he considers himself cheated if he only gets one bedtime story. Also, every kid at the preschool got a book).

“But you love books!” I said. “And this is a really good book – I had this same book when I was a little girl, it was one of my favourites!”

He looks at me with the I-can’t-believe-how-dim-you-are-woman face. “I asked Santa for toys! I asked for a ball and a pirate ship and a skipping rope! I used my best manners and everything!” He shoots the book a look of pure disgust, “and he gave me a stupid book!”

He slouches off in high dudgeon (I know, slouching and high dudgeon seldom go together, but somehow the kid manages it).

So there you have it. Santa screwed him over.

Just for the record, we read the book at bedtime, and he was spellbound. Loved it. Agreed that it was a totally good story. Nonetheless, Santa is persona non grata in the House of Frog.

3 Responses to “Dead to us.”

  1. amy December 15, 2007 at 7:31 am #

    We happened to see Santa at the mall–it’s a small, local mall, and we were there for something else, and didn’t expect to see him. So we said hello (my kids don’t like to sit on his lap, just shake hands and talk) and chatted and left with small candy canes. Nicholas said afterwards, “My secret wish was to have candy and he gave me candy!

    So Santa is still doing good over here… 🙂

  2. becky c. December 15, 2007 at 11:36 pm #

    Ruh-roh! Sure hope Santa gets his act together and isn’t banished for all time.

  3. elizabeth December 16, 2007 at 4:20 am #

    haha. I was known to throw a few tantrums if Santa forgot that I wanted Barbies for Christmas. I know exactly how he feels.

Leave a Reply

