What I did on my Holidays, by Kate

26 Dec

In the last week, there have been bus trips, train trips and car trips.

There has been swimming

christmas-20071.jpg

presents

christmas-20073.jpg

christmas-20072.jpg

visits from superheroes

christmas-20075.jpg

and knitting.

christmassy-woolly-goodness7.jpg

This is most of a Monkey sock in Camo cashmerino sock yarn from the Knitting Ninja (sorry, I can’t link. Morgan’s site is down). The Bamboo purse is all but finished – it only needs a lining. MIL loves it and is eagerly awaiting the completed article. Pics soon.

There were also kids craft projects, visits with grandparents, aunties, uncles and cousins; eating, drinking and merriment galore, but there are no photos as I was having too much fun.

When we got home there were more parcels waiting both in the mailbox and under the tree, and after supervising the ripping of paper by the boys, I got to rip some of my own:

christmassy-woolly-goodness1.jpg

christmassy-woolly-goodness6.jpg

My Mum knows what constitutes perfect knitting TV. Beautiful people, gorgeous locations and a story that I love to bits.

christmassy-woolly-goodness2.jpg

Mandie dyed some Merino/Optim sock yarn specially for me. Yummy colours – much more rich and purply in real life. And ssssssssssssooooooooooofffffffffffttttttttttttt.

christmassy-woolly-goodness4.jpg

Becky sent me some Paton’s SWS (that’s Soy Wool Stripes) which I have never been able to get my hot little hands on, and which somehow manages to be both silky and fuzzy at the same time.

christmassy-woolly-goodness5.jpg

This is also from Becky. It is hand spun scrumptiousness the exact colours of English lavender, and it even smells like lavender. I am so looking forward to knitting with this – I’ve never played with handspun before!

I hope you all had a bright and beautiful time, whatever your traditions, and that the jolly old elf and his lesser-known associate the Fibre Fairy made all of your woolly dreams come true.

Now I have to go and scale the Everest of dirty clothes that just landed in my laundry. I’m thinking the North Face is a good place to establish a base camp.

4 Responses to “What I did on my Holidays, by Kate”

  1. Mandie December 26, 2007 at 4:49 pm #

    It’s good to have you home chick 🙂
    xoxo

  2. amy December 27, 2007 at 1:16 am #

    Happy Holidays, and now on to the knitting! I love the Spiderman. Glad all your travels were safe. 🙂

  3. becky c. December 27, 2007 at 7:02 am #

    That Monkey sock is gorgeous!! Bet it is soft too. Isn’t knitting so much more fun now that there aren’t deadlines hanging over our heads?

  4. Melinda December 29, 2007 at 2:12 pm #

    Yay – Pride and Prejudice! I got it as well…and none of this Kiera Knightly rubbish! Enjoy watching and knitting 🙂

Leave a Reply

