New Years Day: Lilies and Hopes

1 Jan

We have in our front yard two big ugly clumps of weirdness that are a total eyesore for about eleven months of the year. In fact, when we first moved in here, Hubby and I decided that we would mow over these big honkin’ messes to kill them. Fortunately, they really liked being mowed and came back splendidly, because each year, starting between Christmas and New Years’, we get this kind of action in our front yard:

front-yard-flowers1.jpg

front-yard-flowers2.jpg

Aren’t they gorgeous? Every year, we mean to lift them out and separate the bulbs/corms/whatever and spread them around the garden, but every year when the appropriate time comes (after they are done flowering and start to die back a bit), we are flat out busy with other stuff and it gets forgotten. Hopefully this will be the year it happens.

My gardener insisted I also take a pic of the annuals we have in pots on the front verandah, so here we have Marigolds and Petunias.

front-yard-flowers3.jpg

And then he decided I needed a shot of him too (incidentally, he took the shot of the white lily above. I acted as tripod, holding the camera steady, while he lined up the shot to his satisfaction and pressed the button. I’m truly impressed – his shot was nicer than the three I took).

gardener.jpg

New Years Resolutions Possibilities Wishes Hopes

I try not to make New Years Resolutions as such (too strong and forceful a word; way too much pressure) because, flaky piece that I am, I usually forget about them by the end of January, and then come next December I suddenly remember: “Omigodomigodomigod! I was supposed to lose weight/get a better job/buy a new car/vacuum the living room! Where the hell did the year go?“.

Instead, here is a list of things I hope to do with my year (I may as well use the blog to keep myself honest, don’t you think?):

  • I want to do some study this year, preparatory to going back to work in 2009 when Sasquatch starts Big School (more on that in a month or two).
  • I’d like to declutter this crapfest that we call a house and get some of those “clever storage solutions” the TV decorators are always wittering on about.
  • I would also like to clean up my knitting act; I will try to have no more than four WIPs at any one time (and yes, socks do count), and I will also endeavour to do a quarterly roundup and decide what is a WIP and what is a UFO. UFOs will be frogged (I know this is doable, as I did a fair bit of it in September before starting on the Southern Summer of Socks Knitalong).

And after the insanely ambitious goals I set for myself in September, I think that is enough. I’m covering three areas of my life: work, home and knitting. Let’s save some personal growth possibilities for next year, shall we?

8 Responses to “New Years Day: Lilies and Hopes”

  1. amy January 1, 2008 at 11:09 pm #

    Thank you for the beautiful photos of blooming flowers. That’s why I started reading you Aussies to begin with, you know, so that I’d get to see some blooming action in the dead of my winter. Props to your photographer, too. 🙂

  2. becky c. January 2, 2008 at 3:05 am #

    Pretty flowers and such a cute garderner!!

  3. tinkingbell January 2, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    Nice flowers (we have lots of those ‘look like crap and flower and then get forgotton – please see the photos of our naturalised tulips from spring!) Join the 7 things challenge – Taph and I are trying to ensure that 7 more things leave our house each week than come in – doable! without too much effort

    I like Taph’s reolution – I will buy yarn/fibre from an Aussie independent producer once a month – that’s my kind of resolution!
    Happy New Year!

  4. KTMay January 2, 2008 at 9:13 am #

    Wow…lots of thoughts flowing thru my head after reading your beautiful post!!!

    Still so strange to realize that while there is snow in my backyard, you are watching gorgeous summer flowers bloom! Everything looks quite lovely, and I must say I’m very jealous of your warm season right now.

    The son is so precious that I want to be like one of those obnoxious TV aunts, and squeeze his cheeks, pass him a smooch, and give him a dollar just for being so darn cute!

    Resolutions….yea…whatever. The only one (of my handful) that I’m looking forward to is drinking less coffee, and drinking more tea.

    WIP’s…I need to cut down on those myself. <<>>

  5. KTMay January 2, 2008 at 10:19 am #

    Ohhhhh….one more resolution I JUST decided on….

    I will get caught up on my Block of the Month afghan, and NEVER fall behind again!!! So let it be written, so let it be done. Amen.

  6. Taphophile January 2, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    Go the gardener! My gardener nowhere near as cute as yours, can we swap? Mine’s about to turn 67 and has Very Definite ideas on what a garden should look like. His ideas and mine rarely coincide. On the upside, he can hook the trailer up to the ute all by himself.

    I like your hopes. The whole WIP/UFO thing rings a definite bell. Come declutter with us, only 7 things a week – it’s doable.

  7. Kate January 3, 2008 at 11:34 am #

    Happy New Blooms to you!
    mine doesn’t garden, but yesterday discovered the fiscal benefits of cleaning up after the dogs :>
    I think I’ll pass on the resolutions – by lunchtime I have trouble sticking to a plan made at breakfast!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Random Witterings 101 « Kiss My Frog - February 16, 2008

    […] now officially mark that project Finished in my Ravelry notebook, and cast on something new (if you recall, this year I am limiting myself to a maximum of four WIPs at any one […]

Leave a Reply

