Dear Becky,

13 Jan

Look what we made!

christmassy-woolly-goodness5.jpg

The beautiful handspun you sent has seen some action.

calorimetry4.jpg

This is the first time I’ve ever used handspun yarn, and I. LOVE. IT! The subtle play of colour, the variation of texture, the little flecks of yellow and green and very occasionally, a startle of white. I had no idea it could be so much fun. and the whole time I was knitting it, I kept thinking, “Wow, Becky made this yarn. How cool is that?”

calorimetry3.jpg

The Calorimetry pattern was a nice quick knit, took about four or five hours worth of pick-it-up-and-knit-a-row (I need this kind of no-brainer knitting, as Pomatomus requires some focus). I blocked it,

cal-block-blog1.jpg

and I added a nice basic button.

cal-block-blog2.jpg

Then (for my sins) I put it on and had the Man Himself take a photo of me in it.

calorimetry-blog1.jpg

And guess what? I still have ten grams left, enough for a stripe in the end of a scarf. Yay!

cal-block-blog4.jpg

Thank you again for one of the nicest gifts I’ve ever received.

Love,

Kate

7 Responses to “Dear Becky,”

  1. 2paw January 13, 2008 at 11:10 am #

    Wow!! You look lovely in your Calorimetric thing (I can never get the name right!) And the wool was Perfect for it. I found the Pomatomus socks needed concentration too!!

  2. Mandie January 13, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    Hello Chick!!
    Awesome pic……. gorgeous Calorimetry jigger and b*ewe*tiful handspun to boot
    xoxo

  3. becky c. January 13, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    Wow!! It’s all you, baby. You make my yarn look good! So glad you found a way to use it.

  4. tinkingbell January 13, 2008 at 7:04 pm #

    Oh – pretty pretty handspun and the head scarf whatsit is very nice! Need the quick gratification sometimes!

  5. amy January 13, 2008 at 11:06 pm #

    Oh yay, now I know what you look like!! I can stop picturing a frog when I think of you. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Beautiful yarn and what a nice, gratifyingly quick knit! I love those. And you even modeled it in the heat of summer–I appreciate the lengths to which you go to please your fans. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Kate January 14, 2008 at 10:14 am #

    I’m with Amy!! (though I wasn’t really picturing you as a frog – more like a pair of hands with knitting, coffee and chocky close by, but not in a Thing kind of way) (you know, a frog was probably better than disembodied hands, wasn’t it?)
    How lucky to be given such pretty pretty yarn, and what a lovely headband, with excellent photo-shoot styling, photography and a gorgeous model!! :>

  7. Taphophile January 16, 2008 at 2:58 pm #

    Fabulous Calomitery! Must be something in the air with these things but they’re such a satisfying knit. Hadn’t thought about using handspun, but you’re right – perfect.

Leave a Reply

