Ahhh… Good To The Last Drop.

18 Jan

Karen posted a pic of her favourite coffee mug on her blog today (Warning: if you are old enough to remember the 1980’s, do not, repeat, DO NOT read the title of the post or click on the link at the top, or you’ll have Corey Hart stuck in your head for all time).

Where was I? Oh yeah, Karen’s coffee mug. She posted it, and asked people to take a pic of their favourite beverage container so she could make up a collage. I thought “I can do that!” so off I went to set up a little photo shoot.

Now, while I was getting it all set up, I realised this is a thing we probably all have in common, so I’m putting the challenge out there: Show me your favourite coffee mug/tea cup/beverage receptacle. You know the one – the one that you go for first, the one that you will wash up by hand even though there’s five clean cups sitting there in the dishwasher, because your coffee tastes better in that particular cup.

Here’s mine in its natural habitat, with a fresh-baked banana maple muffin and knitting close to hand. Yes, there is coffee in there, you just can’t see it because of the camera angle and the fact that I absent-mindedly took a mouthful or two while I was setting up for the pic. Incidentally, I take mine black with no sugar. I figure I’m about as sweet as I’m ever likely to get.

18012008-001.jpg

Two years ago I served as Secretary for my local playgroup, and at the end of the year each of us on the committee received one of these coffee mugs (filled with beautiful chockies) as a thank-you present. Apart from the nostaglia angle, this is just a really nice mug. It’s big (always a good thing), and it’s solid and chunky, and keeps the coffee nice and hot. When it eventually goes the way of all ceramics, I will be quite bereft.

So, I’ve showed you mine, now you show me yours.

Now I think it’s time I put the kettle on.

8 Responses to “Ahhh… Good To The Last Drop.”

  1. KTMay January 18, 2008 at 10:21 pm #

    Yaaaaay! This is so fun! Obviously, you’ve already seen mine (Thanks for liking it so much…my neighbor bought it for me for watching her Jack Russell for her.) Your home always looks/feels so cozy! Oh, and yes…..PAYBACK!!! Your mug/teacup is PERFECT…..Shall we organize a mug and yarn swap???

  2. becky c. January 19, 2008 at 12:30 am #

    Hey, I recognize a little noodle box in the background!! I will get a picture of my favorite cup in my next post.

  3. amy January 19, 2008 at 5:23 am #

    You can see my favorite coffee mug in this post. I have a different favorite for tea, which we got at the National Zoo in Washington, DC. It is tall and narrow, with a giraffe on it.

    I’m trying to catch up on blogs before cleaning the bathroom. Tough choice, huh? ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. tinkingbell January 19, 2008 at 6:51 am #

    Oh the perfect mug – I have 2 and alternate! I will try to get organised enough to post a pic!

  5. cathy January 19, 2008 at 1:59 pm #

    Ill try too but I fear mine will be boring!!!!

  6. Regenia January 19, 2008 at 11:43 pm #

    My mug is up. I hope you don’t mind that I have made you the scape goat of my most recent post. You’ll have to read to see ๐Ÿ˜€

  7. Rachael January 20, 2008 at 6:22 am #

    I will take a pic of mine today and post it up! What a great meme…

  8. Rachael January 20, 2008 at 1:19 pm #

    Here ’tis! and in the flickr group too! Cheers!

Leave a Reply

