Pie-Eyed

23 Jan

Vegetarian warning: this post contains graphic imagery of a meaty nature.

In accordance with orders from on high, today I am observing a somewhat lesser-known American holiday: National Pie Day. However, I am putting a proper Australian spin on it, by baking my own invention: the Beef and Beer Pie (did you hear that? That was the sound of men all over the world pricking up their ears). This recipe started out as one of those “Cook From Your Pantry” exercises, and it was so good that I was instructed to write down what I’d done so I could do it again later.

pie-day1.jpg

The beef is cooked very slowly in the crock-pot, making it so tender that it falls apart if you even threaten it with a fork, and the beer adds the most extraordinarily rich and hearty flavour – more so than beef stock could do. Paprika and dried herbs add a little zing.

I went all out and made pastry from scratch, using Delia’s excellent tutorial, which I tweaked a little by adding some of the same herbs and spices as are in the meat filling.

pie-day2.jpg

My hubby loves this pie so much that… well, let’s just say I know he’ll never leave me. Passion may fade, but a really good meat pie is forever.

And for dessert…. Pecan pie with vanilla ice-cream for me

pie-day4.jpg

pie-day3.jpg

and for hubby, his favourite dessert: Matches (quite possibly the simplest dessert you can cook. Strips of puff pastry, brushed with egg wash and sprinkled with a little sugar, then baked for 10 mins or until it’s puffed up and golden. Then you sandwich it with strawberry jam and whipped cream (we didn’t have any cream, so I substituted ice-cream. He was happy anyway).

Excuse me, I have to go and find some pants that fit.

8 Responses to “Pie-Eyed”

  1. becky c. January 23, 2008 at 10:48 pm #

    I LOVE PECAN PIE!! Shoot, now I’m hungry.

  2. amy January 23, 2008 at 11:42 pm #

    I’m very impressed on the pastry. That’s one thing I can’t do. I figure, I can do lots of other stuff in the kitchen. I’m okay with not making pie crust from scratch. I find it exceedingly impressive, though.

  3. Regenia January 24, 2008 at 5:18 am #

    So you were only teasing when you said you had wriiten down the recipe….. not going to share, my dear?

    😛

  4. tinkingbell January 24, 2008 at 6:02 am #

    OOOOOHHHH Yum! they both look and read so well – yummy (I will have to try the beef/beer one!

  5. amanda j January 24, 2008 at 6:59 am #

    Holy cow! That all looks so delicious!

  6. 2paw January 24, 2008 at 7:44 am #

    What a very Aussie pie and thanks for the recipe and the link!! I think this will be a delicious pie to cook in Autumn!!

  7. KTMay January 24, 2008 at 12:54 pm #

    Holy slow simmerin’ goodness, Batman! YOU, oh Queen of the Pastry, have outdone yourself. You put most Americans to SHAME with your flaky crusts, perky pecans, and moist meats! I bow down in admiration! Now get your scrawny toosh to the US and cook for Becky and me!!! =)

  8. Kate January 25, 2008 at 9:52 am #

    And whaddyaknow, we got a slow cooker for xmas from my mum! Any chance of the recipe details, hmm???? It’d make an awesome Australia Day dinner ( we eat plenty of lamb – we don’t have to do what Stan says) :>
    And this week our special pud was apple, apricot and raspberry fruit sponge (so ner)

Leave a Reply

