My Neighbour Thinks I’m Barking Mad.

4 Feb

More on that in a moment. First, some heartfelt and belated thanks. Nearly a week ago, the lovely Cathy awarded me with this:

award.jpg
The rules state:
Give the award to 10 people whose blogs bring you happiness and inspiration and make you feel happy about blogland. Let them know by posting a comment on their blog so they can pass it on. Beware; you may get the award several times.

So my people are (in no particular order):
&
You guys do all genuinely make my day a little bit brighter, and I am grateful every day that Blogger couldn’t handle the massive Sockapalooza traffic, more or less forcing me to start my own blog. I don’t always comment, but I do always read, and I often laugh out loud, or groan in sympathy, or click the link, or covet your latest stash (sorry, George) acquisition. Even if we never get to meet face to face, I still think of you as my friends.
Okay, enough mushy stuff, time for Show and Tell.
pics-in-the-rain1.jpg
The Despina sock stalled halfway down the foot when I realised I was going to run out of yarn. I sort of knew that the third pattern repeat on the leg was a mistake, but it was sooo pretty, and I like me a nice long sock, so I went ahead and did it anyway. I have come up with a contingency plan, which I will describe in detail sometime this week. In the meantime, there has been major progress on the Lady Marmalades. Here’s a detail pic of the contrast heel and the lacy panel up the side:
pics-in-the-rain2.jpg
Also, the Brick House pinwheel sweater has been zooming along. While I waited for inspiration to strike regarding the lace edging, I put the circle stitches on a holding thread and picked up the sleeve stitches to work them while I considered. I was still no closer to the decision by the time I had polished off a full ball of yarn, so I put those stitches on a string, too, and worked the other sleeve. Halfway down sleeve two, I had a lightbulb! The main problem I was having with my decision is that I felt more and more strongly that all the lacy edgings that I swatched were too fussy for what I wanted for this cardi. Accordingly, I have discarded all previous lacy plans and kept it very simple, and the result is much more me. Whaddya think?
pics-in-the-rain3.jpg
And why, I hear you ask, does my neighbour think I’m mad? It’s raining today, so the light indoors was much too grey and dreary for taking blog-pics. So I sat on a chair in the middle of my backyard, in the rain, with two non-matching, half-knit socks on and took photos of my feet (it was only drizzling – I’m not a complete loony). My neighbour happened to drive up her driveway just in time to catch this performance. She stopped in the middle of her driveway, stared, shook her head and walked away.
‘Nuff said?
10 Responses to “My Neighbour Thinks I’m Barking Mad.”

  1. KTMay February 4, 2008 at 1:02 pm #

    Awww…thank you! I am humbled and honored. YOUR blog cracks me up so often, and I love the way “blogland” has brought together two knitters on different continents, only to find out how very much we have in common. (big hug)

    The socks both look great, but I’m really wondering about this contingency plan…gonna post a “wanted” poster at Ravelry???

    The sleeve is really, really beautiful! The yarn is even more gorgeous in the sunlight.

    If I had a nickel (or the Australian equivalent) for every time my neighbor has shaken her head at MY antics, I’d be able to afford the airfare to Australia withOUT stealing Becky’s credit card!

  2. becky c. February 4, 2008 at 1:11 pm #

    Can I award you the honor right back?? You are my very bestest “imaginary” friend and I’m so glad we found each other.

    That lace is perfect!! Can’t wait to see the sweater all done.

    Becky

  3. cathy February 4, 2008 at 3:49 pm #

    giggle giggle what fun!! Loved to have seen her face!!!

  4. Mandie February 4, 2008 at 9:10 pm #

    Awwww thank you chick!
    I think it wise for the neighbours to think one is barking mad…..keeps them on their toes and gives them something to talk about ;-p

  5. Taphophile February 5, 2008 at 5:27 am #

    Thanks Kate – what a lovely thing to do. You Make My Day too – and your neighbour’s.

    Love the edging on the pinwheel jacket – it’s just right. 🙂

  6. tinkingbell February 5, 2008 at 6:27 am #

    Beautiful edging (what did you use) and I do love the Despina’s – so I’m interested to hear the plan (Isn’t blogland great!??)

  7. kms February 5, 2008 at 7:19 am #

    your neighbour obviously has no idea about ART! all your things here are really lovely works of art, and that edging is perfect.

  8. amy February 5, 2008 at 7:55 am #

    Thank you for the laugh!! In short supply today. I knew braving the Internets to read my knitting blogs was a good idea. Your neighbor has no idea what she’s missing. I like the socks. And the edging. And you make my day, too.

  9. Kate February 7, 2008 at 7:37 am #

    Huge Warm Fuzzies for you too! thank you so much for making my day :> I really think we need some sort of warp portal between our houses, it would make dropping in for a cuppa so much easier (and less virtual!)
    * I love the edging you chose for your pinwheel (note to sefl – get on with child’s pinwheel!!!)
    * Your Despina is making me think seriously of a Pomatomus for moi
    * I had marmalade on my toast this morning as I read about your marmalade sock – nice synchronicity!
    * I lay on the footpath, several houses away, with my feet in the air, taking pictures of my Stormy Rainbows socks next to real rainbows. I think sitting in your own backyard is really not that weird.
    Mwah!!

  10. frillbow February 16, 2008 at 4:43 pm #

    Oh this post has given me such a laugh! I’m sure my neighbour thinks I’m just as mad as yours does. Worth it though – for the great photos!

Leave a Reply

