The Great Despina Contingency Plan

8 Feb

As I mentioned in the previous post, I’m running out of yarn for the Despina sock. I can’t cannibalise the other half of the skein, because that would mean even less yarn for sock #2. I can’t order any more of the yarn, because Mandie didn’t write down what she did when she dyed it for me (she’s a genius, but perhaps a touch absent-minded). So I had a bit of a shopping spree at Mandie’s e-store, and bought some of the Optim/merino yarn that she used, and some pots of dye. I have absolutely no illusions about my ability to recreate the gorgeousness that is that colourway, but I had a cunning plan in mind.

Here’s how it went:

clematis-dyepot-first-dip1.jpg

In the dyepot

clematis-dyepot-first-dip3.jpg

After the first dip, the colour wasn’t nearly deep enough, and the skein was tied a bit too tightly, so there were sections of yarn that hadn’t seen any dye at all. I retied the skein, and lobbed it back in for another swim (you don’t need to see a picture of that, do you? Good, because I didn’t take a pic the second time), and the results were much better:

lapis-semi-solid2.jpg

Did I forget to mention that I also bought an Ashford skeiner/swift thingy? Well, I did. Here’s what the yarn looks like in the skein:

lapis-semi-solid3.jpg

and in the ball:

lapis-semi-solid1.jpg

These pics aren’t quite true to colour – it’s a really luscious, deep lapis lazuli colour (I love me the semi-precious stones). It’s not a perfect match for the original colourway, but it is a good complementary colour. Now, here is where the cunning part of the plan comes in: I am spiralling the semi-solid lapis into the original yarn. Check it out:

lapis-semi-solid4.jpg

I’m very happy with how it’s working. I should be able to knock the rest of this puppy over tomorrow, and then I can get stuck into the second sock.

As they say on the Mason Dixon Knitting blog, git ‘er done!

Updated 9th February: I finished the toe last night, and have already got a jump on the second sock.

despina-and-a-bit.jpg

6 Responses to “The Great Despina Contingency Plan”

  1. becky c. February 8, 2008 at 10:15 pm #

    You’re so smart! Don’t you love it when a crazy plan works out?

  2. KTMay February 8, 2008 at 10:38 pm #

    YOU are the genius! It looks absolutely fantabulous!!!!!!! Nicely done!

  3. tinkingbell February 9, 2008 at 6:55 am #

    Oh – absolutely brilliant – and I love love love the colour – it looks great! Who is Mandy? Where can I get her yarn? Will you dye some for me? I love it it to bits!!!!!

  4. amy February 9, 2008 at 8:53 am #

    Aren’t you clever!!

  5. Lynne February 11, 2008 at 8:33 am #

    Very pretty; aren’t you clever?!

    BTW, what kind of ball winder do you have? I want one that winds those pretty ‘yarn cakes’.

  6. Taphophile February 19, 2008 at 5:38 pm #

    Too, too gorgeous for words. You are a clever clogs. The colours are divine. Skeiners are the best invention since ball winders IMO. Couldn’t live without mine.

Leave a Reply

