Definitely Maybe.

12 Feb

When I bought the merino/optim from Mandie, there’s a chance that I may also have bought some of her other luxury blend sock yarns. In fact, I might have bought two skeins each of her merino/optim, merino/silk and merino/bamboo.

And there’s a distinct possibility that yesterday I spent a couple of hours playing around with the dyepots.

Perhaps this could be be the result.

crystal-pink.jpg

Two skeins of merino/bamboo in a semi-solid ‘Wild Raspberry’. Earmarked for knee-highs, maybe Clessidra, or possibly Bellocq. The bamboo content gives the coolest effect once it is dyed. Because bamboo is a plant fibre like cotton or linen, it doesn’t take the acid dye. But unlike cotton or linen, it’s not white – it’s clear, and it’s shiny. The effect makes me think of those clear glass seed beads with the coloured lining.

purrple.jpg

This one is an experiment. First I used an eye-dropper to sprinkle dots of Raspberry over the damp yarn, then I cooked it in my steamer basket for a while to set that colour. Then I over-dyed with a rich dark purple dye called ‘Barossa’. I like it! This one I’m thinking should be Scheherazade’s Slippers (Ravelry link). Ever since I first saw this pattern, I knew I needed them in a silk blend in a lush, decadent shade of purple.

Scheherazade simply wouldn’t wear anything less, dahling.

6 Responses to “Definitely Maybe.”

  1. amy February 12, 2008 at 10:09 am #

    Wow, look at you jumping in the dye pot with both feet! (Metaphorically, of course.) What beautiful colors! So you’ll be opening the Etsy shop when?

  2. Tinkingbell February 12, 2008 at 3:36 pm #

    Gorgeous gorgeous gorgeous!! You are so clever = love the scherezade – had to print it out and drool straight away!

  3. Kate February 12, 2008 at 6:56 pm #

    {I think the category for this post is hilarious!}
    Lovely colours!! The things you can do when the kids go to school! Bring on next week!
    And should you ever get tired of the fabulous colours, I’m sure I could find them a good home :>

  4. becky c. February 12, 2008 at 9:44 pm #

    SO pretty! Will you be dyeing me some roving, dahling? : )

  5. amanda j February 13, 2008 at 4:36 pm #

    Beautiful scrumptious colours!

  6. KTMay February 15, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    While I find the colors to be quite delish, I really just wanted to pop in and say, “Hello, dahling!”

Leave a Reply

