Today, on AMAZING PRODUCTS!!!

1 Mar

Some of you may remember the lengthy series of disasters that I like to call my brown Jo Sharp pullover (for those of you not familiar with this ongoing embarrassment, you can get the gist of it here). Well, here we are at the starting point of attempting to turn this bloody bedamned yarn into an actual garment (for the record, this will be attempt #5).

kmf-yarn-de-kinkificator3.jpg

Introducing the Kiss My Frog Yarn De-Kinkificator™ (Patent Pending), modelled here by my charming assistant Sasquatch. It may appear to the uninitiated to be merely two broom handles and a couple of pieces of bent wire, but that’s where you’d be wrong! It is in reality an Advanced Yarn De-Kinkification System™.

kmf-yarn-de-kinkificator1.jpg

Here’s a comparison shot for you:

kmf-yarn-de-kinkificator2.jpg

On the left is the pre-treatment kinky yarn, in the centre is the De-Kinkificated™ yarn, and on the right is a strand of the one and only original ball of never-been-knit yarn (see what I mean about how well this yarn has held up to the abuse I’ve been dishing out for four and a half years?).

But wait, there’s more! I am on the downhill run of the Pinwheel sweater, having started the garter-and-eyelet edging. Thirty-six more rounds and I am done, baby! This four-project limit has its advantages – I am finishing stuff all over the place at the moment! Which, of course, frees me up to start new stuff – yes, that’s right: there’s still more!!!

cardi-sock.jpg

Cardigan Sock by Anne Hanson for Knitspot, in Mountain Colours Bearfoot, colour “Indian Corn”, a birthday gift from Becky. The very first time I saw the pattern on Anne’s blog, I knew it was destined for this yarn. Was I right, or what? I am deeply in love with this combination.

So how much would you expect to pay for the extraordinary Yarn De-Kinkificator™? $100.00? $50.00? No, for the bargain price of just one skein of STR, we will ship you this amazing product immediately.

Act now, operators are standing by!!

7 Responses to “Today, on AMAZING PRODUCTS!!!”

  1. Taphophile March 1, 2008 at 8:06 pm #

    Oh my – there’s an amazingly similar system in use Chez Taph – it involves a broom handle plastic bottles filled with water. The purists will say one shouldn’t weight the yarn but fie on them – go the De-Kinkificator!

  2. 2paw March 1, 2008 at 9:13 pm #

    Oh, is there a set of free steak knives as well???!! Very amusing. I tend to wind my used wool into a ball, place it in a colander and then gently steam it and wind it up into a ball again, then a skein. Your way is a far less long and winding road!!!

  3. tinkingbell March 2, 2008 at 6:44 am #

    I skeins, wash it and put a can of spaghetti in the bottom while it hangs on a coathanger – but I love your system more!

  4. Lynne March 2, 2008 at 8:02 am #

    I skein, and drip drywith a little-used-exercise-that-previously-dislocated-shoulder 1kg weight!

  5. Kate March 2, 2008 at 7:08 pm #

    The Kiss My Frog Yarn De-Kinkificator (Two Thousand?) is truly worthy of STR, CTH, MCB, or even LL style worship – sadly however I fear that I have none of these, and may have to just yearn from afar……
    I’m intrigued by your sock’s name – must check out the pattern – and am very taken by the random streaks of blue in the yarn!
    Great news on the Pinwheel Sweater – just in time for the cooler weather! (oh no, sorry, that’s us) ;P
    So does this lovely blog post mean that you now have a new monitor??

  6. KTMay March 3, 2008 at 12:03 am #

    LMAO! And you think I’M a nut? Hee hee. Good luck on attempt #5…maybe it be THE ONE. Socks look GORGEOUS!

  7. becky c. March 3, 2008 at 10:23 am #

    What will you make me trade you for a lovely assistant?

    I’m such a dork – when I saw the sock I said, “I used to have some yarn like that,” totally forgetting that I had bought it for you. Yummy to work with, n’est-ce pas?

Leave a Reply

