You May Call Me Lunch Lady Doris

6 Mar

I got the job.

lldoris1.gif

I have to keep pinching myself; it doesn’t seem real yet, but I don’t think I would hallucinate a phone call from the president of the P&C.

Starting next Monday (10th March) I will be the new canteen supervisor at my son’s school, which means I will be working during school hours and only in term-time, so there is no need for before-and-after-school care, or finding someone to look after the boys on holidays. I can’t tell you what a relief that is to me. I’ve been making moves in the direction of going back to work for a couple of months now, and what to do with the kids has really been preying on my mind.

Our school canteen is a part of the Fresh Tastes @ School program, and I am pretty excited about giving the kids fresh, healthy food, and having the chance to help set their feet on the right track for a lifetime of good, healthy food choices and great eating. I feel quite strongly that the solution to the childhood obesity problem isn’t for kids to eat less, but for them to eat better, and move more. This job will allow me to be a small part of that solution, and I’m really looking forward to the challenge.

Thank you all over and over for your good wishes, and your obviously efficacious job-vibes. I went into that interview knowing that I had all my friends at my back, and it made it easier to face the panel (yep, a panel interview for a country school canteen supervisor’s position – go figure). Having a job will really cut into my knitting time, but I think it will be a very good thing for me, for our family and (I hope) for the school as well.

11 Responses to “You May Call Me Lunch Lady Doris”

  1. amy March 6, 2008 at 11:09 am #

    Congratulations! They are lucky to have you.

  2. KTMay March 6, 2008 at 11:59 am #

    WONDERFUL! PERFECT! THRILLED FOR YOU!

    Yes, Amy is so right, they ARE lucky and blessed to have you. Congrats, hun…well done! =)

  3. Taphophile March 6, 2008 at 4:04 pm #

    Oh well done you! So great that it fits in with your life and your interests.

  4. Mandie March 6, 2008 at 5:18 pm #

    Course you got the job chicky…never any doubt in my mind ;-p
    Congratulations….good thing that you’re still able to come to Bendy though….I won’t have to pout and behave badly now xoxo

  5. Lynne March 6, 2008 at 6:35 pm #

    Congratulations – it sounds like you and the job are just right for each other!

  6. donyale March 6, 2008 at 6:40 pm #

    Whew! I thought – hang on! Bendy! Well done Cream Bun.

  7. Kate March 6, 2008 at 7:54 pm #

    Just wait till some little child tries to hassle you for a bag of chips – what a power rush there will be!!!!
    Fantastic news – useful, family friendly, paid employment with no take-home stress and no suits to dryclean! AWESOME!!!! And there will be more yarn money!!! WOO HOO!!!!

  8. 2paw March 6, 2008 at 8:51 pm #

    That’s great news!!! It is very good when a job fits in with school!!

  9. becky c. March 7, 2008 at 6:23 am #

    Cool beans! Do you know the lunch lady song?

  10. Tinkingbell March 7, 2008 at 11:06 am #

    Excellent! So great and doing such a worthwhile thing too! Well done, You!

  11. amanda j March 7, 2008 at 6:30 pm #

    Well done! I wish someone would come and clean out our canteen. It’s disgusting!

Leave a Reply

