Assorted Stuff

8 Mar

Yesterday I had a training day at work (after eight-and-a-half years of sitting around on my motherly bum, it’s very odd saying “at work”!), and I’m feeling much more confident about next week when I start for real. I knew I’d be able to do the job (or I wouldn’t have applied), but I now feel like next week is going to go fairly smoothly (knock wood). There are going to be teething problems as I settle in, of course, and I’m sure there will be occasions where my not being home during the day causes dramas (especially for the boys), but we will get there in the end.

Today I am going shopping for work clothes, and shoes! Yesterday I wore my standard red leather slides (part of my spring/summer “uniform” – capri-length pants, t-shirt/tank and flat leather mules), and they are simply not going to get it done. They are a good comfy shoe, and are fine for mooching about the house, but after running about all day on a hard concrete floor, my legs were very tired last night. I need something with some decent support and enough traction so that I can dart back and forth between the counter and the drinks fridge, ovens and freezers without coming a cropper (there’s another Ockerism for you, Karen – I know how much you love those!).

In amongst all the job-getting hoo-hah, I have been knitting, and my pinwheel is almost done. I won’t bore you with a pic at the moment, as it just looks like a giant jellyfish with two repeats of the garter/eyelet edging, but I hope to get it finished today, so I can block it tomorrow and wear it to work on Monday – the mornings are crisp enough now that a cardi is a good idea, which means that soon it will be full-on jumper weather! Yeah, baby!

Finally, my Dad sent me this clip, and it made me giggle so I thought I’d share.

6 Responses to “Assorted Stuff”

  1. amy March 8, 2008 at 7:38 am #

    I used to waitress full time in a restaurant that had a concrete floor. (Yep, a design feature; no thought whatsoever to the waitstaff went into that decision!) The best shoes I found for working 10- to 12-hour shifts standing up on concrete were Doc Martens. Go figure. I have bad feet, and those are the only shoes, including “orthopedic” ones, that didn’t result in excruciating pain after a full day.

  2. Taphophile March 8, 2008 at 10:47 am #

    You may have to wear comfy shoes but the pinwheel is going to more than make up for them in the style stakes.

  3. ktmay March 8, 2008 at 11:07 am #

    LOL! I don’t care WHAT shoes you wear. It’s the hand-knit SOCKS that you wear WITH them that matter!

  4. becky c. March 8, 2008 at 12:50 pm #

    OMG! That video is hilarious. Earth shoes are super comfy, or just a nice new pair of sneakers.

  5. Lynne March 8, 2008 at 2:23 pm #

    “after eight-and-a-half years of sitting around on my motherly bum” … what mother has time to sit around; especially with energetic boys to chase/pick up/look after! All the best, I’m glad it’s looking like smooth sailing.

    PS I’m loving my wool winder!!

  6. Kate March 9, 2008 at 8:31 am #

    Yay for your job, yay for new shoes, yay for shoes that show off socks, and holy bovine, that video brought tears of joy to my hubby’s eyes.. :>

Leave a Reply

