Thank God It’s Good Friday

21 Mar

Happy Easter to you all.

hotcrossbuns.jpg

I just want to say hot cross buns are bloody fantastic, and it’s a very good thing they are only available at Easter (yes, thank you, I do know that sweet buns without the cross are easily obtained all year round, but I try to ignore that fact as much as I can).

Yesterday at work was absolute bedlam! If the kids are this crazed before a four-day weekend, God help me in two weeks time when they break up for the holidays! I toyed with the idea of teaching back in high school, but came to my senses changed my mind when I considered the sort of purgatory to which teachers are subjected on a daily basis. I am utterly in awe of anyone who is sufficiently crazy and masochistic patient and dedicated for the profession. May you all be paid what you are actually worth (yeah, I know, but it’s a nice thought, isn’t it?).

This whole having-a-real-job thing has really cut into my knitting time, but there has been a little bit of stick-and-string action happening here at the House of Frog; I started a new cardi.

lily-blue-jeans.jpg

It doesn’t look like much yet, but the pattern is the Lily Cardigan by Marie Grace Smith, a beautifully simple (read: no-brain knitting for when I’m too catatonically tired for anything else) top down raglan and I’m working it in Elann Den-M-Nit (which I originally bought to make this skirt, but I have since realised that no-one should have to see my arse in a knitted skirt, and the thought of my pale, cellulite-y thighs peeking through that lace is… bothersome. Too much info? Sorry!).

Also, remember the Araucania I bought from Donni a while back? I’ve been Monkeying (heh heh) about with that a little, seeing what it might want to be, and I am in lurve with this yarn – it’s not as soft as good ol’ Aussie Merino, but OMG the colours! Just look how beautifully it knits up!

araucania-rib.jpg

The Cardigan socks have to be ripped back; I tried them on the other day, and they are a bit too snug over my heel. I hate having to force a pair of socks on; it always makes me worry that I’ll rip them, so I’ll be starting over on slightly bigger needles.

wanderlust_hoodiel.jpg

Finally, I have a question for anyone out there who has knit more cabled/aran type jumpers than I have: would it be possible to knit this without the bobbles at the top and bottom of each of those leaf-shaped panels? I am really loving this pattern, but I am not a fan of bobbles. It has been my experience that no matter where you think you are placing them on a jumper, they always somehow wind up right on your boobs. Even if you knit the silly damn things on the back of the jumper, they will magically migrate to your nipples. So if any of you out there have the issue of IK in which the Wanderlust Hoodie was originally published (sorry, but the Knitting Daily site isn’t forthcoming on which issue it was), and could let me know, I would be truly grateful.

That’s all the knitting news for now. Hopefully the long weekend will mean I am able to fulfil certain promises about modelled shots of the pinwheel. Stay tuned.

10 Responses to “Thank God It’s Good Friday”

  1. joyknits March 21, 2008 at 12:17 pm #

    You just HAD to tantalize us with those darned rolls, didn’t you?

    As far as leaving off the bobbles, I have a similar opinion of the things myself, and I’d say “why not?” I imagine the pattern is charted, how about trying 1 repeat of the pattern as a swatch and see how you like it.
    Good luck – it’s a neat sweater!

  2. amy March 21, 2008 at 12:43 pm #

    Oh, I love that Lily Cardigan! Hmm, will have to check that out and see if I have stash yarn for it…

    No idea on the bobbles, and the sweater doesn’t look familiar so I’m wondering if it’s prior to 2004, when I started getting IK. Sometimes the Ravelry entry will say what back issue a pattern is in, like with the Favorite Socks patterns.

    Happy Easter to you as well! I shall be flashing food pics too, I hope. 🙂

  3. amy March 21, 2008 at 12:47 pm #

    Me again. It’s in the Fall 2006 issue. I’m looking at the chart, and the bobble is surrounded by purl stitches. I don’t see why you couldn’t just replace the bobble with a purl. I agree; swatch it and see.

    I don’t like bobbles either. I don’t really like my knitting to, well, protrude quite so much…

  4. Lynne March 21, 2008 at 2:08 pm #

    Certainly you can leave the bobbles out – swatch it as suggested.

    Happy Easter.

  5. Kate March 21, 2008 at 4:32 pm #

    You make me laugh – migratory bobbles? Nipple-homing no less???
    We have buns on the bench, ready for breakky (toasted – yum!!).
    I like your denim Lily plans – looks lovely! And the Araucania is pretty, though I like ’em louder. Not that anyone who looked at my knitting would ever guess.
    😛

  6. Taphophile March 21, 2008 at 6:37 pm #

    Totally do not need to knit the nipple cosies. Would you like to borrow my copy of the pattern?

  7. dropstitchknitter March 22, 2008 at 7:42 am #

    mmmmm, mmmmm – those look delicious! And I love the color you choose for Lily – I’m halfway though my first sleeve and it’s proving to be a very nice knit.

  8. cathy March 22, 2008 at 10:26 am #

    I agree, Ive done bobbles on an aran before but luckily there were enough not to look hmm,silly! but I agree with everyone else,just leave them off,I love the Lilly cardy,Ill be visiting that site for at two patterns,LOL
    Havent had many buns yet,been a bit of weird Easter for us,hopefully Ill make some today or visit Bakery if we travel to Kal…

  9. Katt March 22, 2008 at 10:30 am #

    i know there is something about hot cross buns that other sweet buns dont have (and i am not talking about the cross!!)…just like there is something different about cadbury easter chocolate that the rest of their chocolate doesnt have…

    i agree leave the bobbles off..i have never liked them..they just look silly i think..

    Katt

  10. becky c. March 22, 2008 at 1:33 pm #

    That cardi will look so cool in the denim. I don’t think I’ve ever met a hot cross bun, but they look yummy!

Leave a Reply

